Kentucky Public Service Commission

Meet the Commissioners

Kent A. Chandler
Chairman, Kentucky Public Service Commission

Kent A. Chandler was appointed to the Public Service Commission by Governor Andy Beshear on July 6, 2020, and designated as Chairman on August 3, 2021. His term expires June 30, 2024.

Prior to his appointment, he served as Executive Director of the PSC. Previous to becoming Executive Director, he was an advisor to the commissioners, focusing on federal wholesale gas and electricity markets.

Before coming to the PSC, Chairman Chandler advocated for Kentucky ratepayers as an attorney in the Kentucky Attorney General’s Office of Rate Intervention. In that position, he regularly represented consumers before the PSC in electric, gas, water and sewer utility cases and also served on the executive committee of the Consumer Advocates of the PJM States.

Chairman Chandler is a member and co-vice chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ electricity committee. He serves on the EPRI advisory council, board of directors of the National Regulatory Research Institute, and as an officer of the Organization of PJM States. He is a member of the Southeastern Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners, where he serves as second vice president. Chairman Chandler, a native of Providence, Kentucky, earned a Bachelor of Science in finance from Murray State University. He received a Juris Doctor from Northern Kentucky University’s Salmon P. Chase College of Law. He and his family reside in Georgetown.

Kent A. Chandler
Mary Pat Regan
Commissioner, Kentucky Public Service Commission

Mary Pat Regan was appointed to the Public Service Commission and designated as Commissioner by Governor Andy Beshear on July 11, 2022. Her term expires July 1, 2023.

Prior to her appointment, Commissioner Regan was the Commonwealth’s Deputy Secretary for Education & Labor. Her previous professional experience includes key senior executive roles with the AT&T Corporation including responsibility as National Vice President-Regulatory for AT&T and Kentucky State President of AT&T Communications. Commissioner Regan also held several senior sales executive positions with MCI Telecommunications Corporation.

Commissioner Regan has participated in and provided Chair leadership for several Louisville based community and civic programs during the last ten years including Greater Louisville Inc., Kentucky Chamber, Business Leaders for Education, and United Way. She has served as member of the Board of Directors for Kentucky Educational Television, The Louisville Science Center, the Jefferson County Public Education Foundation and the Louisville Collegiate School.

Commissioner Regan attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison and has a life-long interest and participation in sports and competitive athletic activities to include cycling, running and swimming. She has earned participation completion medals in seven Ironman National Competitions.

Originally from Minneapolis, Commissioner Regan has resided in the Commonwealth for over twelve years and currently lives in St. Mathews

Mary Pat Regan