
      KY.P.S.C. Electric No. 2 
      Eleventh Revised Sheet No. 45 
Duke Energy Kentucky, Inc.   Cancels and Supersedes 
1262 Cox Road   Tenth Revised Sheet No. 45 
Erlanger, KY 41018   Page 1 of 3  
 

Issued by authority of an Order of the Kentucky Public Service 
Commission dated August 2, 2021 in Case No. 2021-00057. 

Issued:  August 13, 2021 
Effective:  August 15, 2021 
Issued by Amy B. Spiller, President /s/ Amy B. Spiller 

    RATE DP 
 
    SERVICE AT PRIMARY DISTRIBUTION VOLTAGE 
 
APPLICABILITY 
 Applicable to electric service for usual customer load requirements where the Company specifies service at 

nominal primary distribution system voltages of 12,500 volts or 34,500 volts, and the Company determines 
that facilities of adequate capacity are available and adjacent to the premises to be served, and the customer's 
average monthly demand is determined by the Company to be less than 500 kilowatts.  Electric service must 
be supplied at one point of delivery and is not applicable for resale service. 

 
 When both single and three phase secondary voltage services are required by a customer, the monthly 

kilowatt-hour usage and kilowatt demands shall be the respective arithmetical sums of both services. 
 
TYPE OF SERVICE 
 Alternating current 60 Hz, single phase or three phase at Company's standard distribution voltage of 34,500 

volts or lower. 
 
NET MONTHLY BILL 
 Computed in accordance with the following charges provided, however, that the maximum monthly rate, 

excluding the customer charge, and all applicable riders shall not exceed $0.262020 per kilowatt-hour  
(Kilowatt of demand is abbreviated as kW and kilowatt-hours are abbreviated as kWh): 

 
 1. Base Rate 
 
  (a)  Customer Charge  
       Primary Voltage Service (12.5 or 34.5 kV)   $  117.00      per month 
 
  (b)   Demand Charge 
       All kilowatts    $      8.60      per kW 
 
    (c)   Energy Charge 
       First 300 kWh/kW       $0.057053    per kWh                   
       Additional kWh       $0.048481    per kWh                   
 
 2. Applicable Riders 
  The following riders are applicable pursuant to the specific terms contained within each rider: 

Sheet No. 76, Rider ESM, Environmental Surcharge Mechanism Rider 
Sheet No. 78, Rider DSMR, Demand Side Management Rider 
Sheet No. 80, Rider FAC, Fuel Adjustment Clause 
Sheet No. 82, Rider PSM, Profit Sharing Mechanism 

 
 The minimum charge shall be the Customer Charge shown above. 
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PRIMARY VOLTAGE METERING DISCOUNT 
 The Company may meter at secondary or primary voltage as circumstances warrant.  If the Company elects 

to meter at primary voltage, the kilowatt-hours registered on the Company's meter will be reduced one and 
one-half percent (1.5%) for billing purposes. 

 
DEMAND 
 The demand shall be the kilowatts derived from the Company's demand meter for the fifteen-minute period 

of customer's greatest use during the billing period, as determined by the Company, adjusted for power factor, 
as provided herein.  At its option, the Company may not install a demand meter if the nature of the load clearly 
indicates the load will have a constant demand, in which case the demand will be the calculated demand. 

 
 In no event will the billing demand be taken as less than 85% of the highest monthly kilowatt demand 

established in the summer period and effective for the next succeeding eleven (11) months. 
 
 If a customer requests reconnection of an account within twelve (12) months of a disconnection order, the 

customer's demand record for the period of disconnection will be re-established for purposes of billing and 
administration of the preceding clause. 

 
 For purposes of administration of the above clause, the summer period is defined as that period represented 

by the Company's billing for the four (4) revenue months of June through September.  The winter period is 
defined as that period represented by the Company's billing for the eight (8) revenue months of January 
through May and October through December. 

 
POWER FACTOR ADJUSTMENT 
 The power factor to be maintained shall be not less than 90% lagging.  If the Company determines customer's 

power factor to be less than 90%, the billing demand will be the number of kilowatts equal to the kilovolt 
amperes multiplied by 0.90. 

 
 At the Company's option, power factor may be determined by the following methods: 
 
  a. Continuous measurement 
 

  - the power factor, as determined during the interval in which the maximum kW demand is 
established, will be used for billing purposes; or 

 
  b. Testing 
 

   - the power factor, as determined during a period in which the customer's measured kW demand is
not less than 90% of the measured maximum kW demand of the preceding billing period, will be 
used for billing purposes until superseded by a power factor determined by a subsequent test made 
at the direction of Company or request of customer. 
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LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 
 Payment of the Net Monthly Bill must be received in the Company's office within twenty-one (21) days from 

the date the bill is mailed by the Company.  When not so paid, the Gross Monthly Bill, which is the Net Monthly 
Bill plus 5%, is due and payable. 

 
TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
 The initial term of contract shall be for a minimum period of five (5) years terminable thereafter as prescribed 

by the Company's Service Regulations. 
 

(1) For customers with a most recent twelve month average demand of less than 10,000 kVA, thirty days 
written notice. 

 
(2) For customers with a most recent twelve month average demand of 10,000 kVA or greater, written 

notice twelve months in advance of the desired termination date. 
 
 The Company is not obligated to extend, expand or rearrange its transmission system voltage if it determines 

that existing distribution and/or transmission facilities are of adequate capacity to serve the customer's load. 
 
 If the Company offers to provide the necessary facilities for transmission service, in accordance with its 

Service Regulations, an annual facilities charge, applicable to such additional facilities, is established at 
twenty (20) percent of actual cost.  The annual facilities charge shall be billed in twelve monthly installments 
to be added to the demand charge. 

 
 For purposes of administration of this rate, the Company will determine the customer's average monthly 

demand based upon the twelve months ending December of each year after the applicable term of service 
has been fulfilled by the customer.  If the customer's monthly demand exceeds 500 kilowatts and the 
Company expects the customer's demand to remain in excess of 500 kilowatts, then the Company will notify 
the customer prior to May of the succeeding year that the provisions of Rate DT, Time-of-Day Rate for 
Distribution Service shall be applicable beginning with the June revenue month billing and shall continue until 
the term of service of that rate has been fulfilled.  In the case where a customer's average demand is estimated 
by the Company to be significantly less than 500 kilowatts, the Company may, at its discretion, waive the 
twelve month demand history requirement in the determination of the applicability of this rate. 

 
 The supplying of, and billing for, service and all conditions applying thereto, are subject to the jurisdiction of 

the Kentucky Public Service Commission, and to Company's Service Regulations currently in effect, as filed 
with the Kentucky Public Service Commission, as provided by law. 
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