
             
         KY.P.S.C. Electric No. 2 
            Ninth Revised Sheet No. 40 
Duke Energy Kentucky, Inc.      Cancels and Supersedes 
4580 Olympic Blvd.        Eighth Revised Sheet No. 40 
Erlanger, Kentucky 41018      Page 1 of 4 
 

Issued by authority of an Order of the Kentucky Public Service 
Commission dated October 2, 2018 in Case No. 2017-00321. 
Issued:  October 11, 2018   
Effective:  October 2, 2018  
Issued by Amy B. Spiller, President /s/ Amy B. Spiller 
 
 

 RATE DS 
 
 SERVICE AT SECONDARY DISTRIBUTION VOLTAGE 
APPLICABILITY 
 Applicable to electric service for usual customer load requirements where the Company specifies service 

at the standard secondary system voltage and the Company determines that facilities of adequate capacity 
are available adjacent to the premises to be served, and the customer's average monthly demand is 
determined by the Company to be less than 500 kilowatts.  Electric service must be supplied at one point 
of delivery and is not applicable for resale service. 

 
TYPE OF SERVICE 
 Alternating current 60 Hz, single phase or three phase at the Company's standard distribution voltage of 

34,500 volts or lower. 
 
NET MONTHLY BILL 
 Computed in accordance with the following charges provided, however, that the maximum monthly rate, 

excluding the customer charge, and all applicable riders, shall not exceed $0.236915 per kilowatt-hour 
(kilowatt of demand is abbreviated as kW and kilowatt-hours are abbreviated as kWh): 

 1. Base Rate 
  (a)  Customer Charge per month 
     Single Phase Service      $ 17.14      per month 
      Three Phase Service      $ 34.28      per month 

  (b)  Demand Charge 
     First 15   kilowatts       $  0.00       per kW 
   Additional kilowatts       $  8.25       per kW 

    (c)  Energy Charge 
   First 6,000 kWh                $0.080200 per kWh           
   Next 300 kWh/kW          $0.049232 per kWh           
   Additional  kWh                $0.040317 per kWh             

 2. Applicable Riders 
   The following riders are applicable pursuant to the specific terms contained within each rider: 
    Sheet No. 76, Rider ESM, Environmental Surcharge Mechanism Rider 
    Sheet No. 78, Rider DSMR, Demand Side Management Rider 
    Sheet No. 80, Rider FAC, Fuel Adjustment Clause 
    Sheet No. 82, Rider PSM, Profit Sharing Mechanism 

  The minimum charge shall be the Customer Charge shown above. 
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NET MONTHLY BILL (Contd.) 
 For customers receiving service under the provisions of former Rate C, Optional Rate for Churches, as of 

June 25, 1981, the maximum monthly rate per kilowatt-hour shall not exceed $0.145445 per kilowatt-hour 
plus all applicable riders. 

 
 When both single and three phase secondary voltage services are required by a customer, the monthly 

kilowatt-hour usage and kilowatt demands shall be the respective arithmetical sums of both services. 
 
METERING 
 The Company may meter at secondary or primary voltage as circumstances warrant.  If the Company 

elects to meter at primary voltage, the kilowatt-hours registered on the Company's meter will be reduced 
one and one-half percent (1.5%) for billing purposes. 

 
DEMAND 
 The demand shall be the kilowatts derived from the Company's demand meter for the fifteen-minute period 

of customer's greatest use during the billing period, as determined by the Company, adjusted for power 
factor, as provided herein.  At its option, the Company may not install a demand meter if the nature of the 
load clearly indicates the load will have a constant demand, in which case the demand will be the 
calculated demand. 

 
 In no event will the billing demand be taken as less than the higher of the following: 
 
 a) 85% of the highest monthly kilowatt demand established in the summer period and effective for the 

next succeeding eleven (11) months; or 
 
 b) One (1) kilowatt for single phase secondary voltage service and five (5) kilowatts for three phase 

secondary voltage service. 
 
 If a customer requests reconnection of an account within twelve (12) months of a disconnection order, the 

customer's demand record for the period of disconnection will be re-established for purposes of billing and 
administration of the preceding clause. 

 
 For purposes of administration of the above clause, the summer period is defined as that period 

represented by the Company's billing for the four (4) revenue months of June through September. The 
winter period is defined as that period represented by the Company's billing for the eight (8) revenue 
months of January through May and October through December. 
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POWER FACTOR ADJUSTMENT 
 The power factor to be maintained shall be not less than 90% lagging.  If the Company determines 

customer's power factor to be less than 90%, the billing demand will be the number of kilowatts equal to 
the kilovolt amperes multiplied by 0.90. 

 
 At the Company's option, power factor may be determined by the following methods: 
 
 a. Continuous measurement 
   - the power factor, as determined during the interval in which the maximum kW demand is 
   established, will be used for billing purposes; or 
 
 b. Testing 
   - the power factor, as determined during a period in which the customer's measured kW demand is 

not less than 90% of the measured maximum kW demand of the preceding billing period, will be 
used for billing purposes until superseded by a power factor determined by a subsequent test 
made at the direction of Company or request of customer. 

 
LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 
 Payment of the Net Monthly Bill must be received in the Company's office within twenty-one (21) days from 

the date the bill is mailed by the Company.  When not so paid, the Gross Monthly Bill, which is the Net 
Monthly Bill plus 5%, is due and payable. 

 
TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
 The initial term of contract shall be for a minimum period of three (3) years terminable thereafter by a 

minimum notice of either the customer or the Company as prescribed by the Company's Service 
Regulations. 

 
 The Company is not obligated to extend, expand or rearrange its transmission system voltage if it 

determines that existing distribution and/or transmission facilities are of adequate capacity to serve the 
customer's load. 

 
 If the Company offers to provide the necessary facilities for transmission service, in accordance with its 

Service Regulations, an annual facilities charge, applicable to such additional facilities, is established at 
twenty (20) percent of actual cost.  The annual facilities charge shall be billed in twelve monthly 
installments to be added to the demand charge. 
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TERMS AND CONDITIONS (Contd.) 
 For purposes of administration of this rate, the Company will determine the customer's average monthly 

demand based upon the twelve months ending December of each year after the applicable term of service 
has been fulfilled by the customer.  If the customer's monthly demand exceeds 500 kilowatts and the 
Company expects the customer's demand to remain in excess of 500 kilowatts, then the Company will 
notify the customer prior to May of the succeeding year that the provisions of Rate DT, Time-of-Day Rate 
for Distribution Service shall be applicable beginning with the June revenue month billing and shall 
continue until the term of service of that rate has been fulfilled.  In the case where a customer's average 
demand is estimated by the Company to be significantly less than 500 kilowatts, the Company may, at its 
discretion, waive the twelve month demand history requirement in the determination of the applicability of 
this rate. 

 
 The supplying of, and billing for, service and all conditions applying thereto, are subject to the jurisdiction 

of the Kentucky Public Service Commission, and to the Company's Service Regulations currently in effect, 
as filed with the Kentucky Public Service Commission, as provided by law. 
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