

Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet Commonwealth of Kentucky
Kentucky State Board on Electric
Generation and Transmission Siting
211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615
Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615
Telephone: (502) 564-3940
psc.ky.gov

Angie Hatton Chair

September 10, 2024

PARTIES OF RECORD

Re: CASE NO. 2024-00290

Notice is given to all parties that the enclosed letter to Janet Wyatt, Hopkins County Joint Planning Chair, has been filed into the record of this proceeding.

If you have any comments you would like to make regarding the contents of the document, please do so within five days of receipt of this letter. If you have any questions, please contact Nicole Carr, Staff Attorney at Nicole.Carr@ky.gov.

Sincerely,

Linda C. Bridwell, PE Executive Director

On Behalf of the Siting Board

**Enclosure** 



Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Angie Hatton

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Kentucky State Board on
Electric Generation and
Transmission Siting
211 Sower Blvd.

P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 Telephone: (502) 564-3940

September 6, 2024

Janet Wyatt, Chairman Hopkins County Joint Planning Commission 67 North Main Street Madisonville, KY 42431

Sent via email: <a href="https://hopkinscounty.net">HCJPC@hopkinscounty.net</a>

KayWyatt@Hotmail.com

Re: Siting Board Case No. 2024-00290

Dear Ms. Wyatt:

As the Chairman of the Kentucky Public Service Commission (PSC), I also serve as the Chairman of the Kentucky State Board on Electric Generation and Transmission Siting (Siting Board). Therefore, it is my duty to inform you that, on September 3, 2024, the Siting Board received a Notice of Intent from Kentucky Municipal Energy Agency requesting a certificate to construct an approximately 75-megawatt merchant electric solar generation facility in Hopkins County, Kentucky.

The five permanent members of the Siting Board are the Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Commissioner of the PSC, the Secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet (or her designee);<sup>1</sup> and the Secretary of the Economic Development Cabinet (or his designee).<sup>2</sup>

In addition to the permanent members of the Siting Board, pursuant to KRS 278.702(1)(d)(1), one of the Siting Board ad hoc members is the chairman of the planning commission with jurisdiction over the area in which the facility will be located. Based on the facts as presented in the application, you will serve as one of the ad hoc Siting Board members as the Chairman of the Harrison County Planning and Zoning Commission.

Pursuant to KRS 278.710(1), the Siting Board is required to issue its decision granting or denying the application within either 120 days or 180 days, if a local public

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Interim Secretary Jeff Noel has designated Jensen Hammock as his designee for this matter.



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Secretary Rebecca W. Goodman has designated John S. Lyons as her designee for this matter.

Janet Wyatt, Chairman September 6, 2024 Page 2 of 2

hearing is requested. Siting Board Staff will add you to the service list so that you receive all filings in this case.

Please let me know if I can provide you any additional information regarding this case. Any communications regarding this case may be directed either to me or Nicole Carr, Staff Attorney, at <a href="Nicole.Carr@ky.gov">Nicole.Carr@ky.gov</a>. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Angie Hatton

Enclosure



\*Doug Buresh President and CEO Kentucky Municipal Energy Agency 1700 Eastpoint Parkway Suite 220 Louisville, KENTUCKY 40223

\*Michael Peyton Sturgill, Turner, Barker & Moloney, PLLC 333 West Vine Street Suite 1400 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507

\*Rebecca C. Price Sturgill, Turner, Barker & Moloney 155 East Main Street Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507

\*M. Todd Osterloh Sturgill, Turner, Barker & Moloney, PLLC 333 West Vine Street Suite 1400 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507