Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Commonwealth of Kentucky **Public Service Commission**211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615

Telephone: (502) 564-3940
psc.ky.gov

Kent A. Chandler Chairman

> Angie Hatton Vice Chairman

Mary Pat Regan Commissioner

January 2, 2024

Mathew Blane Lyon County Water District P. O. Box 489 Kuttawa, KY 42055

RE: Lyon County Water District Case No. 2023-00352 - Filing Deficiency

The Commission Staff has reviewed the application submitted on December 13, 2023, and the additional filing submitted on December 14, 2023, in the above case. A deficiency cured letter was inadvertently issued on December 15, 2023, accepting the application as filed. However, upon further review, the application is still deficient and rejected for the reasons set forth below.

Filing deficiencies pursuant to:

- (1) KAR 807 5:076 Section 1(2): Annual report for the immediate year Annual report for the immediate year" means an annual report that covers the applicant's operations for either: (a) The calendar year prior to the year in which the applicant's application for rate adjustment is filed with the commission; or (b) the most recent calendar year period that 807 KAR 5:006, Section 4(1), requires the application to have on file with the commission as of the date of filing of its application for rate adjustment.
- (2) <u>KAR 807 5:076 Section 3(1):</u> Applicant's annual report for the immediate past year and the annual reports for the two (2) prior years, if the utility has been in existence that long.
- (3) <u>KAR 807 5:076 Section 9:</u> The reasonableness of the proposed rates shall be determined using a twelve (12) month historical test period, adjusted for known and measurable changes, that coincides with the reporting period of the applicant's annual report for the immediate past year.

Specifically, in order to conform to the regulations, the application must be based on 2022 data and the 2022 Annual Report. You are requested to submit the information necessary to cure the deficiency within 10 days of the date of this letter.

If you need further assistance, please contact my staff at 502-564-3940.

Sincerely,



Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Commonwealth of Kentucky **Public Service Commission**211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615

Telephone: (502) 564-3940
psc.ky.gov

Linda C. Bridwell Executive Director

Kent A. Chandler Chairman

> Angie Hatton Vice Chairman

Mary Pat Regan Commissioner



*Ariel Baker Kentucky Rural Water Association Post Office Box 1424 1151 Old Porter Pike Bowling Green, KENTUCKY 42102-1424

*Mathew Blane Superintendent Lyon County Water District 5464 U. S. Highway 62 West P. O. Box 489 Kuttawa, KY 42055

*Lyon County Water District 5464 U. S. Highway 62 West P. O. Box 489 Kuttawa, KY 42055

*Erica Perkins Lyon County Water District 5464 U. S. Highway 62 West P. O. Box 489 Kuttawa, KY 42055