## COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

## BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

ELECTRONIC INVESTIGATION OF JESSAMINE-	)	
SOUTH ELKHORN WATER DISTRICT AND ITS	)	
INDIVIDUAL COMMISSIONERS, JAMES F. HALL,	)	CASE NO.
JERRY HAWS, THOMAS BEAL, AND CLAY	)	2022-00344
CORMAN, ALLEGED VIOLATION OF	)	
KRS 278.300	)	

## ORDER

This matter was originally established by an Order of the Commission, dated April 14, 2023, to conduct a formal investigation into the alleged failure of Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District (Jessamine-South Elkhorn District) and its individual commissioners, James F. Hall, Jerry Haws, Thomas Beal, and Clay Corman, to comply with KRS 278.300.<sup>1</sup>

In a final Order entered October 31, 2023, the Commission found that, as a result of the repeated violations of KRS 278.300 and pursuant to KRS 278.990, Jessamine-South Elkhorn District commissioners James F, Hall, Jerry Haws, and Thomas Beal should individually be subject to a penalty of \$250 each due within 180 days of entry of the Order, and should be required to attend 12 hours of Commission-hosted water commissioner training within 12 months of entry of the Order.<sup>2</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Order (Ky. PSC Apr. 14, 2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Order (Ky. PSC Oct. 31, 2023).

Subsequently, the individual commissioners, James F. Hall, Jerry Haws, and Thomas Beal completed 12 hours of Commission-hosted training. The Commission also received payment from Jessamine-South Elkhorn District and its individual commissioners on January 9, 2024.<sup>3</sup>

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Commission's investigation into the alleged failure of Jessamine-South Elkhorn District and its individual commissioners, James F. Hall, Jerry Haws, Thomas Beal, and Clay Corman, is closed and removed from the Commission's docket.

<sup>3</sup> Receipt of Payment (Ky. PSC Jan. 9, 2024).

## PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Chairman

Vice Chairman

**ENTERED** 

JUL 25 2024

rcs

KENTUCKY PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

ATTEST:

\*Bruce E Smith Bruce E. Smith Law Offices, PLLC 201 South Main Street Nicholasville, KENTUCKY 40356 \*Thomas Beall Secretary Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356

\*James Hall Chairman Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356

\*Henry E. Smith Attorney Bruce E. Smith Law Offices, PLLC 201 South Main Street Nicholasville, KENTUCKY 40356

\*Jerry Haws Chairman Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356

\*Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356

\*Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water Distri Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356

\*Clay Corman Vice Secretary Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District 802 S Main Street P. O. Box 731 Nicholasville, KY 40356