Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Michael J. Schmitt Chairman

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Kentucky State Board on
Electric Generation and
Transmission Siting
211 Sower Blvd.

P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 Telephone: (502) 564-3940

July 12, 2021

TO: DIVISION OF FILINGS

RE: Case No. 2021-00170

Electronic Application of AEUG Mason Solar, LLC for a Certificate of Construction for an Approximately 250 Megawatt Merchant Electric Solar Generating Facility in Mason County, Kentucky Pursuant to KRS 278.700 and

807 KAR 5:110

Please file in the administrative record of the above-referenced case the enclosed copy of a letter from Chairman Michael J. Schmitt to Governor Andy Beshear dated July 7, 2021.

Sincerely,

Linda Bridwell Executive Director

Enclosure

cc: Parties of Record



Andy Beshear Governor

Rebecca W. Goodman Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Kentucky State Board on Electric Generation and Transmission Siting 211 Sower Blvd. P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 Telephone: (502) 564-3940

July 7, 2021

Hon. Governor Andy Beshear 700 Capitol Avenue, Suite 100 Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Re: Siting Board Case No. 2021-00170

Dear Governor Beshear:

As the Chairman of the Kentucky Public Service Commission (PSC), I also serve as the Chairman of the Kentucky State Board on Electric Generation and Transmission Siting (Siting Board). Therefore, it is my duty to inform you that, on April 13, 2021, the Siting Board received a notice of intent from AEUG Mason Solar, LLC to file an application requesting a certificate to construct an approximately 250 megawatt merchant electric solar generation facility Mason County, Kentucky.

The five permanent members of the Siting Board are myself; PSC Vice Chairman Kent A. Chandler; PSC Commissioner Talina R. Mathews; Secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet Rebecca W. Goodman (or her designee);¹ and Interim Secretary of the Economic Development Cabinet Larry Hayes (or his designee).²

In addition to the permanent members of the Siting Board, pursuant to KRS 278.702(1)(d)(1), the Governor must appoint two ad hoc public members to serve on the Siting Board for the duration of the case. Based on the facts as presented in the application, one of the ad hoc appointees must be the county judge/executive of Mason County, Owen McNeill. The second ad hoc appointee must be a legal resident of Mason County, where the proposed electric merchant generation facility will be sited.

The Siting Board anticipates that AEUG Mason Solar, LLC will file its application in the near future. Pursuant to KRS 278.710(1), the Siting Board is required to issue its decision granting or denying the application within either 120 days or 180 days (if a local public hearing is requested). Therefore, it is vital to the successful completion of the Siting Board's duties that the ad hoc members be appointed by you as soon as practicable.

For your convenience, I have enclosed a copy of Executive Order 2021-328, issued by you on May 18, 2021, appointing two ad hoc Siting Board members to a recent Siting Board Case (Case No. 2020-00226). This format may be used by you to appoint the second ad hoc Siting Board member for the present case.

¹ Secretary Goodman has designated John S. Lyons as her designee for this matter.

² Interim Secretary Hayes has designated Charlie W. Rowland as his designee for this matter.

Governor Andy Beshear July 7, 2021 Page 2 of 2

Please let me know if I can provide you any additional information regarding this case. Any communications regarding this case may be directed either to me or Jennifer Fell, Staff Attorney III, at (502) 782-0094. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Schmitt

Chairman

Enclosure

cc: Kent A. Chandler, Vice Chairman Public Service Commission Talina R. Mathews, Commissioner Public Service Commission John S. Lyons, Deputy Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet Charlie W. Rowland, Economic Development Cabinet Matt Osborne, Office of the Governor



*Adam Stratton

*James W Gardner Sturgill, Turner, Barker & Moloney, PLLC 333 West Vine Street Suite 1400 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507

*M. Todd Osterloh Sturgill, Turner, Barker & Moloney, PLLC 333 West Vine Street Suite 1400 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507