RECEIVED

SHEEHAN, BARNETT, DEAN, PENNINGTON, LITTLE & DEXTER, P.S.C.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW 116 NORTH THIRD STREET P.O. BOX 1517 DANVILLE, KENTUCKY 40423-1517 FEB 07 2013

PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION

Telephone (859) 236-2641 Fax Number (859) 236-0081

JAMES HADDEN DEAN
HENRY VINCENT PENNINGTON, III
RAMONA CASTELLVI LITTLE
STEPHEN ABELL DEXTER
CHRISTOPHER J. TUCKER
MELANIE D. CLARK

OF COUNSEL

JAMES WILLIAM BARNETT

ELIZABETH NICKELS LENN

February 5, 2013

Mr. Jeff Derouen Executive Director Public Service Commission 211 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, Kentucky 40602

Re: Public Service Commission Case No. 2012-00486

Dear Mr. Derouen:

Please find enclosed the original and 5 copies of Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corporation's responses as requested in Case No. 2012-00486, Commission Staff's Amended Second Request for Information to East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc.'s Sixteen Member Distribution Cooperatives dated January 24, 2013. Sheree Gilliam, Vice-President of Member Services will be the witness responsible for responding to the questions related to the information provided.

If there are any questions or if you should need additional information, please let me know.

Very truly yours,

J. HADDEN DEAN, ESQ.

Legal Counsel for Inter-County Energy Cooperative

Enclosure

CC: Case No. 2012-00486 Service List

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

RECEIVED

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

FEB 07 2013

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

AN EXAMINATION BY THE PUBLIC SERVICE)
COMMISSION OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL)
SURCHARGE MECHANISM OF EAST KENTUCKY)
POWER COOPERATIVE, INC. FOR THE) CASE NO.
TWO-YEAR BILLING PERIOD ENDING) 2012-00486
JUNE 30, 2011 FOR THE SIX-MONTH BILLING)
PERIODS ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2011 AND)
JUNE 30, 2012, AND THE PASS-THROUGH)
MECHANISM FOR ITS SIXTEEN MEMBER)
DISTRIBUTION COOPERATIVES)

INTER-COUNTY ENERGY COOPERATIVE RESPONSES TO

COMMISSION STAFF'S AMENDED SECOND REQUEST FOR INFORMATION TO EAST KENTUCKY POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.'S SIXTEEN MEMBER DISTRIBUTION COOPERATIVES

- 1. Each member cooperative should refer to EKPC's responses to Commission Staff's First Request for Information, Item 2, and respond to the following:
- a. Have you experience any problems in administering the refund of any over-recovery or collection of any under-recovery of environmental surcharge costs?

Response: No.

b. Do you recommend any changes from the current method of refunding/collecting any over- or under-recovery of environmental surcharge costs over a six-month time period? If so, what is the time period you believe is appropriate?

Response: No. Inter-County Energy prefers to continue the current six-month time period.

c. Describe the benefits, if any, of allowing the refund/collection of any overor under-recovery of environmental surcharge costs to be spread over a time period different from the current six-month recovery period.

Response: Based on Inter-County Energy's actual average residential customer's kWh usage calculations, spread over the current six-month recovery period versus a twelve-month recovery period, the benefit is minimal. Please see the response to Request 2.

d. Describe the negative effects, if any, of allowing the refund/collection of over- or under-recovery of environmental surcharge costs to be spread over a time period different from the current six-month period.

Response: None.

2. Provide the member cooperative's actual average residential customer's monthly kWh usage. Based on this usage amount, provide the dollar impact any over- or under-recovery will have on the average residential customer's bill for a recovery period of six months and a recovery period of 12 months.

Response: Inter-County Energy's actual average residential customer's kWh usage on a rolling twelve-month average is 1,135 kWh/month.

Based on this usage amount, the dollar impact any overor under-recovery will have on the average residential customer's bill for a recovery period of six months is \$11.61/month and for a recovery period of twelve months is \$13.23/month, for a difference of \$1.62/month.

CERTIFICATE

STATE OF KENTUCKY COUNTY OF BOYLE

Sheree Gilliam, Vice President - Member Services, being duly sworn, states that she has supervised the preparation of the responses of Inter-County Energy to the Public Service Commission Staff's Amended Second Request for Information in the above-referenced Case No. 2012-00486 dated January 24, 2013, and that the matters and things set forth therein are true and accurate to the best of her knowledge, information and belief, formed after reasonable inquiry.

Sheree Gilliam

Vice President - Member Services

Subscribed and sworn before me on this 5th day of February, 2013.

Notary Public

LORI STOCKER
NOTARY PUBLIC
Notary ID 408325
STATE AT LARGE - KENTUCKY
My Commission Expires 11/28/2013

SERVICE LIST

Allen Anderson President/CEO South Kentucky RECC P. O. Box 910 Somerset, KY 42502-0910

Anthony S. Campbell President & CEO East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 707 Winchester, KY 40392

Paul G. Embs President & CEO Clark Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 748 Winchester, KY 40392-0748

David Estepp President & General Manager Big Sandy R.E.C.C. 504 11th Street Paintsville, KY 41240-1422

Barry L. Myers Manager Taylor County R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 100 Campbellsville, KY 42719

Larry Hicks President & CEO Salt River Electric Cooperative P. O. Box 609 Bardstown, KY 40004 Kerry K. Howard CEO Licking Valley RECC P. O. Box 605 West Liberty, KY 41472

James L. Jacobus President & CEO Inter-County Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 87 Danville, KY 40423-0087

Debbie Martin President & CEO Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc. 620 Old Finchville Road Shelbyville, KY 40065

Michael L. Miller President/CEO. Nolin R.E.C.C. 411 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701

Ted Hampton President & CEO Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc. Highway 25E Gray, KY 40734

William T. Prather President & CEO Farmers R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 1298 Glasgow, KY 42141-1298 Mark Stallons President/CEO Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 400 Owenton, KY 40359

Michael Williams President & CEO Blue Grass Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 990 Nicholasville, KY 40340

Carol Wright President & CEO Jackson Energy Cooperative 115 Jackson Energy Lane McKee, KY 40447

Carol Hall Fraley President & CEO Grayson R.E.C.C. 109 Bagby Park Grayson, KY 41143

Chris Perry President & CEO Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 328 Flemingsburg, KY 41041