

VIA OVERNIGHT MAIL

April 26, 2006

Ms. Elizabeth O'Donnell Executive Director Kentucky Public Service Commission 211 Sower Boulevard P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 SANDRA P. MEYER President

Duke Energy Ohio Duke Energy Kentucky 139 East Fourth Street Cincinnati, OH 45202

513 419 5499

513 419 5470 fax

513 706 1065 cell

spmeyer@duke-energy.com



APR 2 7 2006

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Re: Notice of The Union Light, Heat and Power Company d/b/a Duke Energy Kentucky's Intent to File a General Electric Rate Case Case No. 7006-00172

Dear Ms. O'Donnell:

The Union Light, Heat and Power Company d/b/a Duke Energy Kentucky ("Duke Energy Kentucky") notifies the Commission that it will file a general electric rate case in four weeks or reasonably soon thereafter.¹ Duke Energy Kentucky will use a forward-looking test period for this case.

The Commission has ordered Duke Energy Kentucky to file its next general electric rate case such that, based on the applicable suspension period, the new rates will become effective January 1, 2007.² We must file our application in late May 2006 to meet this requirement.³

We are providing a copy of this notice to the Attorney General's Utility Intervention and Rate Division and to counsel for the other intervenors in our last general electric rate case. We will work diligently with the Commission and our other stakeholders to seek a constructive resolution. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Janden P Meyer

Sandra P. Meyer President, Duke Energy Kentucky

¹ Duke Energy Kentucky provides this notice pursuant to Commission regulation 807 KAR 5:001 Section 10(2).

² See Finding No. 15 of the Commission's December 5, 2003 Order in Case No. 2003-00252.

This late May 2006 application filing date is required by: (1) the Commission's Order to effectuate new rates by January 1, 2007; (2) the 30-day notice period for new rates under KRS 278.180; and (3) the six-month suspension period for forward-looking test period cases under KRS 278.190.

SPM/sew

cc: Chairman Mark David Goss (via overnight mail) Vice Chairman Theresa J. Hill (via overnight mail) Commissioner W. Gregory Coker (via overnight mail) Hon. Gregory D. Stumbo (via overnight mail) Hon. Dennis G. Howard (via overnight mail) Hon. Elizabeth E. Blackford (via overnight mail) Hon. David F. Boehm (via overnight mail) Hon. Michael L. Kurtz (via overnight mail) Hon. Anthony G. Martin (via overnight mail) Hon. Carl J. Melcher (via overnight mail)