ELKHORN WATER DISTRICT PO Box 67, Frankfort, KY 40602 (502) 695-4431

August 16, 2022

Ms. Linda Bridwell Executive Director Public Service Commission PO Box 615 Frankfort, KY 40602

RE: Case No. 2022-00124 Elkhorn Water District

Dear Ms. Bridwell:

The Elkhorn Water District (the District) submits the following comments concerning the Commission Staff Report dated August 12, 2022:

- 1. Although the District does not agree with the Staff's removal of labor expenses from certain nonrecurring charges, the District does not wish to contest that adjustment in this case. 'The District's failure to object to Staff's findings and recommendations concerning the reduction of certain Non-Recurring Charges shall not be construed as a waiver of the District's right to contest a similar finding or recommendation in a future rate proceeding. The District expressly reserves its right to do so.
- 2. The District concurs with the findings presented in the Staff Report regarding water rates with one exception. Staff deducted salary expenses for Commissioners from the revenue requirement computation. Fraaklin County Fiscal Court has now located the minutes of the September 2010 meeting in which the current salary level for the District's Commissioners was established. A copy of those minutes is enclosed. Therefore, we request that the salary expenses for Commissioners be added back into Staff's total revenue requirement. Doing so will result in an overall rate increase of 21.28 percent.
- 3. The District waives its right to request an informal conference or hearing in this case.

If you need any additional information from the District to finalize this case, please contact our office.

Sincerely,

Stran

Nancy Sherrow Office Manager

Enclosure

FRANKLIN COUNTY FISCA

COURT

129

FRIDAY Term

MINUTES

Day

24

Day of,

SEPTEMBER

2010

FRANKLIN COUNTY FISCAL COURT **SEPTEMBER 24, 2010** 9:00 A.M. WORK SESSION/10:00 A.M. COURT

Franklin County Fiscal Court met on Friday, September 24, 2010 in the Fiscal Court Room at 321 West Main Street, Frankfort, KY. The meeting was called to order at 10:16 a.m. with Judge Ted Collins presiding. The following members of Fiscal Court were present: Squire Jill Robinson, Squire Phillip Kring, Squire Don Sturgeon, Squire Pat Fannin, Squire Huston Wells. Absent was Squire Lambert Moore. County Attorney Rick Sparks was in attendance.

Following roll call and pledge of allegiance, Judge Collins and Fire Chief Gary Watts presented a plaque in memory of the late Squire Ira Fannin, which will be placed on a new fire truck at the Owenton Road Fire Station.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Wells, that the reading of the minutes of the meeting on September 2, 2010 be dispensed with and approved. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Kring, for second reading and approval of Ordinance #5, 2010 Series, amending Ordinance #8, adopted October 23, 1987, Fiscal Court Order Book 15, Page 31, relating to the Zoning Ordinance in Franklin County for 1205 Benson Valley Road from Industrial General District (IG) to Rural Residential District (RR). Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Kring, for second reading and approval of Ordinance #6, 2010 Series, amending Ordinance #8, adopted October 23, 1987, Fiscal Court Order Book 15, Page 31, relating to the Zoning Ordinance in Franklin County for 1221 Benson Valley Road from Industrial General District (IG) to Rural Residential District (RR). Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to approve Resolution #28-2010, adopting and approving the execution of a Rural Secondary Program Agreement with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Department of Rural and Municipal Aid, to perform bituminous resurfacing on various county roads. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to approve the compensation for commissioners of the Elkhorn Water District for an increase from one hundred dollars per month to two hundred dollars per month, to become effective on January 1, 2011. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Fannin, for authorization to purchase one 2011 Chevrolet Tahoe from Bob Hook Chevrolet, Louisville, KY, through state price contract in the amount of \$31,420, Fire Department. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to award bid for used Self-Propelled Broom with 1,000 hours or less from the sole bidder, Brandeis Machinery & Supply Co., Lexington, KY, in the amount of \$27,100, Road Department. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Kring, for authorization to pay the bills. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion

passed.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Robinson, for authorization to amend agenda to add an agreement with Anderson County Fiscal Court. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Robinson, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to approve Agreement with Anderson County Fiscal Court to close a portion of Lanes Mill Road for reconstruction of the Lanes Mill Road Bridge in Anderson County. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to adjourn. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells and Judge Collins. Motion passed. (Meeting adjourned at 10:25 a.m.)

County Judge/Executive

Fiscal Court Clerk