

6215 N. L & N Turnpike | Buffalo, KY 42716 | 270-325-3242 lcwd1@scrtc.com | www.laruecountywater.com

December 1, 2021

Ms. Linda C. Bridwell, P.E. Executive Director Kentucky Public Service Commission P. O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615

Re: Case No. 2021-00285 LaRue County Water District No. 1 Rates

Dear Ms. Bridwell,

The Larue County Water District No. 1 ("LaRue District") submits the following comments concerning the Commission Staff Report dated November 18, 2021:

- 1. **Non-Recurring Charges.** Although LaRue District does not agree with Commission Staff's removal of certain labor expenses from Non-recurring Charges, LaRue District does not wish to contest these adjustments in this case;
- 2. Employer Sponsored Insurance Benefits. Although LaRue District does not agree with Commission Staff's adjustments to the insurance premiums paid by LaRue District for its employees, LaRue District does not wish to contest these adjustments in this case; and
- 3. LaRue District agrees with all the other adjustments made by Commission Staff.

Board of Directors Chairman: John M Detre Secretary/Treasurer: Pat Eastridge Commissioner: Bobby Garrison Manager Tim Bartley

"Equal Opportunity Provider"

C:\Users\kay\Documents\LETTERHEAD2020.docx

LaRue District waives its right to request a formal hearing in this case and requests the Commission to issue a final Order approving the rates and charges recommended by Commission Staff as quickly as possible.

Rate Case Expenses. LaRue District has incurred the sum of \$17,066.00 in rate case expenses. Of this amount, rate consultant fees of \$8,000.00 were paid to Cann-Tech, LLC, rate consultant fees of \$525.00 were paid to Adam J. Scott, and legal fees of \$8,541.00 were paid to Stoll Keenon Ogden, LLC. Attached are invoices from each of these entities. LaRue District requests the Commission to amortize these rate case expenses over a three (3) year period and increase the Commission Staff's recommended rates accordingly.

If you need any additional information from LaRue District, please let us know.

Yours Truly,

the Chair

John M. Detre, Chairman LaRue County Water District No. 1

Board of Directors Chairman: John M Detre Secretary/Treasurer: Pat Eastridge Commissioner: Bobby Garrison Manager Tim Bartley

"Equal Opportunity Provider"