#### COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

## BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

# THE TARIFF FILING OF HARDIN COUNTY)WATER DISTRICT #2 TO REVISE RULES)AND REGULATIONS)

CASE NO. 98-187

## <u>ORDER</u>

On March 16, 1998, Hardin County Water District No. 2 ("Hardin No. 2") filed a proposed revision to its tariffs. The proposed revision contained language that was not in accordance with Commission regulations. On April 22, 1998, the Commission issued an Order establishing this case to determine the reasonableness of the proposed tariff.

An informal conference was held on June 30, 1998 at which Staff and Hardin No. 2 representatives discussed the needed revisions to the proposed tariff. Hardin No. 2 agreed to file revised tariff sheets that would comply with Commission regulations. On October 6, 1998, Hardin No. 2 filed the signed, revised tariff sheets.

Having considered the proposed revisions and being otherwise sufficiently advised, the Commission finds that the revised tariff sheets filed by Hardin No. 2 comply with Commission regulations and should be approved.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the revised tariff sheets in Appendix A are hereby approved for service rendered on and after the date of this order. Done at Frankfort, Kentucky, this 5th day of November, 1998.

## PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

o otor Chairman

Vice Chairman

Jus

Commissioner

ATTEST:

Executive Director

## APPENDIX A

.

## APPENDIX TO AN ORDER OF THE KENTUCKY PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION IN CASE NO. 98-187 DATED 11/5/98

P.S.C. KY. No. 2

Cancels P.S.C. KY. No. 1

## Hardin County Water District No. 2

OF

## 360 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701

RATES, RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR FURNISHING

## Water

AT

## Hardin and Larue Counties, Kentucky

FILED WITH THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF

**KENTUCKY** 

2

ISSUED: March 12, 1998 EFFECTIVE: April 30, 1998

ISSUED BY: Hardin County Water District No. 2

BY:	Mutul they	, Chairman
<u>.</u>		

## Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 3 of 27 Revised

## **CLASSIFICATION OF SERVICE**

## SPECIAL CHARGES (NON-RECURRING CHARGES)

	DESCRIPTION	AMOUNT
1.	Turn-On Charge	\$25.00
2.	Reconnect Charge	\$25.00
3.	Termination or Field Collection Charge	\$25.00
4.	Meter Resetting Charge	\$25.00
5.	Meter Testing Charge	\$25.00
6.	Return Check Charge	\$15.00
7.	Late Payment Penalty	10%
8.	After Hour Turn-On Charge	\$40.00

A detailed narrative explanation of each of these Special Charges is contained in the Rules and Regulations portion of this Tariff.

Date Of Issue: March 25, 1998

Issued By: Muthant They

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 4 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## **INTRODUCTION**

This schedule of Rules and Regulations governs the furnishing of and maintaining water service by Hardin County Water District No. 2 (the "DISTRICT"). These Rules and Regulations shall be incorporated by reference into all agreements for receiving water service from the District. These Rules and Regulations are promulgated under direction and authority granted by Chapter 5 of the Kentucky Administrative Regulations (807 KAR 5).

## PRIOR RULES AND REGULATIONS REPEALED

Any and all prior rules and regulations of the District, which conflict with these Rules and Regulations are hereby repealed.

## **REVISIONS**

These Rules and Regulations may be revised, amended, supplemented, or otherwise changed from time to time in a manner approved by the Kentucky Public Service Commission.

Date Of Issu	ue: March 12, 1998	
Issued By: _	Mutan Codel	
	$\partial$ ,	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 5 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 1.0: APPLICATION FOR SERVICE

Any person, firm, agency or governmental entity within the boundary of the District may request water service. An application for service or Water User Agreement shall be required to be completed and signed with payment of all applicable fees, before service is supplied by the District. A  $5/8" \times 3/4"$  meter shall be the standard residential customer service meter unless the customer requests a larger meter. If a request for a large meter is made, that installation will be evaluated for approval by the District.

## SECTION 2.0: BACK FLOW PREVENTION AND PRESSURE REDUCING DEVICES

All service connections shall have a means of back flow prevention. The District's standard meter service connection shall include a back flow prevention device, which is installed by the District. Some services may require a different type or special type of back flow prevention device as deemed necessary by the District. If a service requires a special type of back flow prevention device as are installed for the purpose to prevent a Cross-Connection. A Cross-Connection is a connection of the District's water system with a water supply source of questionable quality, and is hereby prohibited. Failure to comply shall result in the discontinuance of water service, until the cross connection as been eliminated. The District's system pressure may require a pressure-reducing valve to be installed on the customers plumbing. This device shall be owned and maintained by the customer. The District also recommends that expansion tanks be installed. See SECTION 33.0 THERMAL EXPANSION TANK RECOMMENDATION.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998		
Issued By:	Machael Thee	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 6 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 3.0: BILL FORMAT



SERVICE ADDRESS

4672 WOOLDRIDGE FERRY RD

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998 Thu **Issued By:** 

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 7 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 4.0: BILLING PROCEDURE

Except for those instances in which a bill must be estimated under pursuant to SECTION 15.0 ESTIMATED BILL of these Rules and Regulations, all meters shall be read monthly and each customer shall receive a bill showing their usage in one hundred gallon increments used the previous month. The bill shall be dated and mailed on or before the first working day of the month. The bills are due and payable to the District upon receipt. Payments must be received by the District on or before the fifteenth (15) day of the month or a customer shall be deemed delinquent, and a Late Penalty shall be assessed.

## SECTION 5.0: BILLS AND NOTICES

- A. Bills and notices relating to the conduct of the business of the District shall be mailed to the customer's address that is listed on the "User's Agreement" unless a change of address has been filed in writing with the District. A customer shall not be excused from the payment of any bill, nor the performance required by any notice, because of a failure to receive the bill or notice.
- B. A bill not paid on or before the past due date shall be deemed delinquent. The District shall mail the delinquent customer a late notice of said delinquency, and the District shall discontinue service without further notice seven (7) days after the date of such notice, unless the bill is paid prior to the expiration of such seven (7) days. If a delinquent bill is not paid within seven (7) days after the date of such late notice, the water supply to a customer shall be discontinued without further notice. However, a "Customer in Good Standing" shall receive an additional above-mentioned billing cycle to pay their bill, at which time all current and arrears' charges shall be paid to avoid discontinuance of service.

A "Customer in Good Standing" shall not be allowed to carry over their charges more than twice, in a twelve (12) month period.

C. A "Customer in Good Standing" is defined as a customer that has not been turned off for non-payment within the prior twelve (12) month period.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998 Issued By: Muther Thel

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 8 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 6.0: BOILERS AND/OR PRESSURE VESSELS

Customers having boilers and/or pressure vessels receiving a supply of water from the District must have a back flow prevention device approved by the District, on the water supply line and a vacuum valve on the steam line to prevent collapse, in case the water supply from the District is discontinued or interrupted for any reason, with or without notice. It is the customer's responsibility to make necessary provisions to protect his/her equipment in case of interrupted or intermittent service.

Date Of Issue:	March 12, 1998
Issued By:	Machan Mora

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 9 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 7.0: CLASSIFICATION OF SERVICE

All customers receiving service from the District shall be classified as Residential Customer Service, Commercial Customer Service, or Industrial Customer Service. The classification of a customer shall be marked on the "User Agreement". The classifications are as follows:

## A. RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMER SERVICE

Residential Customer Service consists of those customers who use water service for a:

- 1. Single Family Dwelling;
- 2. Church; or
- 3. Multi-unit Residential Rental Facility or Mobile Home Park whether billed by an individual meter for each unit or by a master meter.

The customers listed above shall not be charged Kentucky State Sales Tax.

#### B. COMMERCIAL CUSTOMER SERVICE

Commercial Customer Service consists of those customers who use water service for a:

- 1. Place of business or trade (i.e., retail);
- 2. Barn or any building not used for housing;
- 3. Service other than Residential or Industrial.

## C. INDUSTRIAL SERVICE

Any customer who uses water service in connection with the manufacturing or assembling of a product for sale to the public shall be classified as an Industrial user and shall be deemed to receive Industrial Customer Service.

Date Of Iss	ie: March 12, 1998	
Issued By:	Mertar V.	Bey
		,

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 10 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 8.0: COMPLAINTS

Complaints may be made to the General Manager, whose decision may be appealed to the District's Board of Commissioners. Such appeal shall be in writing within ten (10) days of the date of the General Manager's decision and shall state the nature of the complaint and contain supporting evidence. Decisions of the District's Board of Commissioners may be brought to the attention of the Public Service Commission in accordance with 807 KAR 5:006, Section 9. Complaints may also be made directly to the Public Service Commission in accordance with the provisions of 807 KAR 5:001, Section 12 and 13.

## SECTION 9.0: CUSTOMER RESPONSIBILITY

- A. Each prospective customer desiring water service shall be required to sign the District's standard Water User Agreement before service will be supplied by the District.
- B. The customer shall be responsible for all plumbing installed on his/her property beginning at the Point of Delivery. This installation shall be in accordance with state and federal rules and regulations. The customer shall be responsible for maintenance of this portion of the service facilities.
- C. The customer shall provide reasonable protection for the District's equipment installed on his/her premises and shall not tamper or interfere with the District's property or permit others to do so. Customers shall permit access to the District's property by duly authorized representatives of the District. Failure to do so may result in loss of service.
- D. No connections shall be made to the District's lines except by, or under the supervision of, a duly authorized officer, agent or employee of the District.
- E. The customer shall give immediate notice to the District of any irregularities, unsatisfactory service, or defects known to the customer that might affect his/her water service or that of the District's water system.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Issued By: Martine Chell	Title: Chairman
$\langle \rangle$	

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 11 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 10.0: DAMAGE TO THE DISTRICT'S WATER SYSTEM

No person shall maliciously, willfully or negligently break, damage, destroy, uncover, deface, or tamper with any meter, fire hydrant, shut-off valve, structure, appurtenance, or equipment which is part of the District's system. Any person violating this provision shall be subject to discontinuance of water service and shall pay the cost of repairing or replacing the damaged property. See SECTION 32.0 TAMPERING WITH A METER.

## SECTION 11.0: DEPOSITS

- A. Customers shall make a cash deposit to secure payment of bills before water service is supplied by the District, as permitted by 807 KAR 5:006 Section 7(1)(b).
- B. A customer's deposit shall not be refunded until that customer's water service is terminated.
- C. Interest shall accrue on all deposits made by the customer at the rate prescribed by KRS 278.460, beginning on the date of deposit. Interest accrued shall be credited to the customer's account on an annual basis, except the district shall not be required to credit interest on a deposit if a customer's bill is delinquent, on the anniversary of the deposit date. Upon termination of service, the deposit and interest earned and owing shall be credited to the final bill with any remainder refunded to the customer.
- D. However; a "Customer in Good Standing", as defined in SECTION 5.0 BILLS AND NOTICES, shall be allowed to maintain their deposit status, if the customer is to be away from their residence for an extended period of time. The customer would only be required to pay any applicable Special Charges. The account would remain open, but inactive, with no monthly charges, until the account is made active once again.

Date Of Issu	ie: March 12, 1998	
Issued By:	Mutalthey	
	7	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 12 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 12.0: DISCONTINUANCE OF SERVICE AT A CUSTOMER'S REQUEST

Any customer desiring to discontinue the water service to his/her premises for any reason must give notice of discontinuance in person, by writing, or by faxing. The customer must give the District account numbers and other information and allow three (3) working days prior to the date, on which the customer desires to discontinue service. If such notice is not given, the customer shall remain liable for all charges of water and services rendered. If proper notice is given, the customer shall not be responsible for charges of water used beyond the three (3) working days' notice, if the customer provides reasonable access to the meter during that period.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Issued By: Muthat They	Title: Chairman

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 13 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 13.0: DISCONTINUANCE OF SERVICE FOR NON-PAYMENT AND OTHER REASONS

- A. The District may refuse or terminate service to a customer under any of the following conditions.
  - 1. For the violation or noncompliance of any rule or regulation set forth in this Tariff;
  - 2. For noncompliance with the rules and regulations of the Kentucky Public Service Commission;
  - 3. If a dangerous condition exists on a customer's premises;
  - 4. For refusal to provide reasonable access;
  - 5. For illegal use or theft of service;
  - 6. For non-payment of bills;
  - 7. For non-payment of any other indebtedness owed to the District;
  - 8. For tampering with the meter, meter seal, lock, shut-off valve, or any other part of the District's system, or permitting such tampering by others;
  - 9. Cross-Connection of any separate water source with the water service provided by the District;
  - 10. For connecting more than one residence to a meter; or;
  - 11. Residence is deemed not fit for human occupancy by local, state, or federal housing authorities.

Date Of Iss	ue: March 12, 1998	
Issued By:	Mutatthe	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 14 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 13.0: DISCONTINUANCE OF SERVICE FOR NON-PAYMENT AND OTHER REASONS <CONT.>

- B. If water service is terminated for non-payment of a bill, the customer shall be given at least seven (7) days written notice, separate from the original bill, of the District's intent to terminate. Service shall not be terminated before twenty-five (25) days after the mailing of the original unpaid bill, unless another condition listed in this section exists. The District shall not be responsible for a customer who does not receive their bill as long as the address matches the address on the Water User Agreement. See SECTION 5.0 BILLS AND NOTICES.
- C. The District may deny service to an applicant who is a member of a delinquent household where the delinquent customer continues to live and use the service in the household.

## SECTION 14.0: EASEMENT

All customers shall grant or convey to the District a perpetual easement and right-of-way across any property owed or controlled by the customer whenever said easement or right-of-way is necessary for the installation and maintenance of the District's water meter, valves, water lines, and other facilities necessary to furnish service to the customer.

## SECTION 15.0: ESTIMATED BILL

Whenever a meter has ceased to register, or a meter reading could not be obtained, the quantity of water consumed will be estimated based upon an average of at least the prior three (3) months' consumption and the conditions of water service prevailing during the period in which the meter failed to register. If a bill is estimated, the words "Estimated Bill" will be prominently stamped or printed on the face of the bill.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998 Mutat Bell Issued By: \_

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 15 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 16.0: EXTENSION OF SERVICE

Line extensions shall be made in accordance with the provisions of 807 KAR 5:066, Section 11.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	
Issued By: Marker 114	
They man	
U	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 16 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 17.0: FREE WATER TO FIRE DEPARTMENTS

Upon written request by a fire department, the District may grant free use of water to any city, county or volunteer fire department for the purpose of fighting fires within the District's territory or for training firefighters. As a condition for receiving free water, the fire department shall estimate the amount of the water used at the fire and for training, shall maintain written records of such usage, and shall report this usage to the District on a monthly basis. A department shall not use this free water to wash vehicles or for other domestic uses.

## SECTION 18.0: FIRE HYDRANT USE

Fire hydrants are to be used by the District and by fire departments. No one else is authorized to use them, without authorization by the District. The District shall negotiate a fee for such service and the user shall comply with these Rules and Regulations. The District uses the fire hydrants for flushing lines. The fire departments may use the fire hydrants for use on a fire, authorized periodic drills, and periodic testing of hydrants and lines to determine pressure and flow rates; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that fire departments shall use only soft suction hoses when connecting a pump to the fire hydrants. The fire departments shall be responsible for any damage to the fire hydrant and lines that result from their negligence or from their failure to observe this policy. The fire departments shall notify the District if there is any planned activity when using District hydrants.

## SECTION 19.0: FIRE PROTECTION

Although the District is not a fire protection district, certain portions of the District's water distribution system have the capability of providing some level of fire protection. In those areas where a professional engineer with a Kentucky registration has certified that the system can provide the required fire flow, the District will provide fire protection for customers on a negotiated fee basis. The District and the customer shall enter into a special contract before any connection is made to the District's system.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Issued By: Mutal Mey	Title: Chairman

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 17 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

SECTION 20.0: INTERRUPTION OF SERVICE

- A. The District shall use reasonable diligence in supply water service, but shall not be liable for loss, injury, or damage to persons or property resulting from interruptions in service, excessive or inadequate water pressure. The District does hereby explicitly state that its system is one for rural domestic consumption and that its allowance of connections to its system for fire protection, whether by design or by implication, is only for such benefit as a customer may be able to derive from such connection.
- B. The District shall in no event be held responsible for any claim made against it by reason of breaking of any mains or service pipes or by reason of any other interruption of supply of water caused by failure of pumps or other machinery or stoppage for necessary repairs. No person shall be entitled to damage nor to have any portion of a payment refunded for nay interruption of service, which, in the opinion of the District, may be deemed necessary.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998 They Issued By: <u>///</u>

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 18 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 21.0: LANDLORD AGREEMENT

This Landlord Agreement shall be made between the owner or authorized agent "Landlord" of the rental property and Hardin County Water District No. 2 "the District".

The purpose of this agreement is to provide a smooth transition between the changing tenants. The following procedure may be allowed:

- 1. Upon the tenant vacating the rental property, the Landlord may, in person, by telephone or by faxing, request that the account be placed in the Landlord's name.
- 2. The District will read the meter and process the final bill of the vacating tenant
- 3. The Landlord shall not be required to pay the deposit, however; any applicable Special Charges shall be assessed to the Landlord's account and the bill shall be payable upon receipt.
- 4. Upon rental of the property to a new tenant, the District will read the meter and process a final bill to the Landlord and place the account in new tenant's name.
- 5. The District may terminate this agreement at any time should the Landlord fail to comply with the District's approved Rules and Regulations.

	ue: March 12	· .	
Issued By:	Muto	f albert	
	1		

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 19 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 22.0: LEAK OR CATASTROPHIC PROBLEM ADJUSTMENT POLICY

If a customer incurs a leak in their plumbing or has a catastrophic problem that is unable to be identified, a customer may be entitled to an adjustment. An adjustment shall be subject to the following conditions:

- 1. The customer must request an adjustment;
- 2. The leak must be repaired, or the problem does not continue;
- 3. If there is a leak, a customer shall have reasonable proof of such;
- 4. A catastrophic problem must be explored for all aspects before an adjustment may be granted;
- 5. If it is determined by the District that the increase in usage was due to negligence by the customer, an adjustment shall not be granted;
- 6. A swimming pool, fishpond or other items deemed explainable by the District shall not be used as a reason for an adjustment;
- 7. The District shall determine the excess usage by comparing the usage during the period(s) while there was a leak or problem with the customer's normal usage. The customer's normal usage will be determined by computing the customer's average usage for the twelve (12) months billing period immediately prior to the problem. If a twelve (12) month usage history is not available, the District will use the available usage history and other relevant factors to determine a reasonable estimate of the customer's normal usage. The difference between the usage while there was a problem and the normal usage is the excess usage;

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Issued By: Mutur May	Title: Chairman
V	

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 20 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 22.0: LEAK OR CATASTROPHIC PROBLEM ADJUSTMENT POLICY <CONT.>

- 8. The customer's normal usage will be billed at the rate shown in the District's approved tariff;
- 9. The customer's excess usage will be billed at a reduced rate, which closely approximates the District's cost of only producing the excess water;
- 10. The reduced rate shall be calculated by using 40% of the filed tariff for use of 2,000 to 500,000 gallons. This percentage would be used to cover the cost of production only;
- 11. Each adjustment may only cover a maximum of two (2) billing periods;
- 12. Only one (1) adjustment will be permitted at a particular service installation during each calendar year;
- 13. This adjustment policy is applicable to all customers;
- 14. If this leak or problem would be a great financial burden to the customer, the District may allow this charge to be paid in installments that would be mutually agreed upon.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	
Issued By: Martine May	_
(/	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 21 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 23.0: LOCATION OF WATER LINES

Any person, firm or organization involved in work around or near the District's water transmission and distribution mains or appurtenances must, by law, call the toll free Kentucky Underground number to request the District to locate the same. The District has a two (2) working day notice to complete its location of its mains and appurtenances. If notice is not given or work starts too early the owner and/or the person(s) doing the work shall be liable for all damages incurred.

## SECTION 24.0: METERS

- A. All meters shall be furnished, installed, and maintained at the expense of the District. The District shall determine the size and type of meter used. It shall be the policy of the District to test each water meter pursuant to 807 KAR 5:066, Section 16. In addition, upon written request of any customer, the meter servicing such customer shall be tested by the District, pursuant to 807 KAR 5:006, Section 18. Along with the request for testing the District shall obtain a meter testing fee, however if the meter is found to be registering fast the testing fee will be credited back to the customer and any refunds from the results of a fast meter.
- B. The customer shall provide a location for the meter which is unobstructed and accessible at all times. The meter shall be conveniently located with respect to the District's water line.
- C. The District shall, at all reasonable hours, have access to the meter for the purpose of installation, meter reading, inspection, maintenance, operation, replacement, or removal.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Issued By: Mutanting	Title: Chairman
$\mathbf{V}$	

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 22 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 25.0: MULTI-PARTY METERS

- A. New Construction. A separate water meter shall be required for each house, each living unit of a duplex or apartment building, commercial units or complex, and each mobile home.
- B. *Existing Structures.* In the event a person requests water service for an existing duplex or apartment building, a separate meter shall not be required for each living unit if the District determines that the buildings' plumbing system does not easily allow the installation of individual meters.
- C. *Other Conditions.* If an existing property has more than one resident connected to a single meter and that property changes ownership, the District may require the new owner to purchase individual meters.

## SECTION 26.0: OWNERSHIP OF MAINS, SERVICES & APPURTENANCES

All mains, fire hydrants, valves, and other appurtenances are and shall be the property of the District, whether installed by the District, a contractor, or the customer.

All service lines from the main to the meter, and the meter and appurtenances shall be the property of the District, whether installed by the District, a contractor, or the customer.

The customer shall install, own, and maintain their service line from the meter and/or point of delivery as defined herein.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Eff
Issued By: Mutant Buy	Title: Cl

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 23 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 27.0: POINT OF DELIVERY

The point of delivery is the point where the meter is located on the customer's premises. All water lines, plumbing, and equipment beyond the meter shall be installed and maintained by the customer at their own expense, in a safe and efficient matter in accordance with the District's Rules and Regulations and with the Regulations of the Department of Health. The District reserves the right to determine the location of the delivery point with full regard to those wishes of the prospective customer.

## SECTION 28.0: RELOCATION OF WATER LINE OR METER

The District may, at the request of a customer, relocate, change, or modify existing mains, meters, and other facilities. The customer shall reimburse the District for such charges at the actual cost including, but not limited to, appropriate legal administrative, engineering, and overhead costs.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date Effective: April 30, 1998
Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998 Issued By:	Title: Chairman
(	

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 24 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 29.0: RIGHT OF ACCESS

The customer shall permit the District to lay, maintain, repair, or remove water lines owned by the District and located on the customer's property. The District's duly authorized representative and/or other duly authorized employee of the State Health Department bearing proper credentials and identification shall be permitted to enter upon all properties for the purpose of inspection, observation, measurement, sampling and testing, in accordance with the provisions of these Rules and Regulations.

The customer shall convey, or cause to be conveyed, a perpetual easement and right-of-way to the District across any property owned or controlled by the customer whenever said easement or right-of-way is necessary to enable the District to furnish water service to the customer.

## SECTION 30.0: SERVICE LINE INSTALLATION

All service lines beyond the metering point should be installed of material consisting of polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyethylene (PE) tubing, or copper pipe with a rating not less than 160 psi. The size of the service line beyond the point of delivery should not be less than 3/4"; however, a larger size may be needed to provide adequate service. If the customer's point of use is at a higher elevation than the point of delivery, the customer should consult with a reputable engineering firm to size the service line from the point of delivery.

Piping on the premises of a customer must be so installed that connections are conveniently located with respect to the District's lines and mains. The customer shall provide a place for metering which is unobstructed and accessible at all times. If access to the meter becomes a problem, the District may relocate the meter at the owner's expense.

		arch 12, 1998	
Issued By:	M	when filey	
• •			

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

+ f .

Sheet 25 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

SECTION 31.0: SPECIAL CHARGES

A. *Purpose*: Pursuant to the provisions of 807 KAR 5:006, Section 8, the District has adopted the following Special Charges to cover certain cost incurred for a specific customer. The purposes of these Special Charges are to keep from increasing rates to other customers who do not receive any benefits from the service provided or the action taken.

#### B. Special Charges.

- 1. *Turn-On Charge.* A turn-on charge shall be assessed for a new service turn-on, seasonal turn-on or temporary service. A turn-on charge shall not be made for initial installation of service where a tap fee is applicable.
- 2. **Reconnect Charge.** A reconnect charge shall be assessed to reconnect a service which has been terminated for non-payment of bills or violation of the District's Rules and Regulations or the Public Service Commission's Regulations.
- 3. **Termination or Field Collection Charge.** A charge shall be assessed when a District representative makes a trip to the premises of a customer for the purpose of terminating service. The charge shall be assessed if the District representative actually terminates service or if, in the course of the trip, the customer pays a delinquent bill to avoid termination. The charge shall also be made if the District representative agrees to delay termination based on the customer's agreement to pay the delinquent bill by a specific date. The District shall make a Termination of Field Collection Charge only once in any billing cycle.
- 4. *Meter Resetting Charge.* A charge shall be assessed for resetting a meter, if the meter has been removed at the customer's request.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	I
Issued By: Markat Wey	1
$\bigcup$	

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

#### Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 26 of 27

#### **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 31.0: SPECIAL CHARGES <CONT.>

- 5. *Meter Testing Charge.* A charge shall be assessed if a customer requests the meter to be tested pursuant to Section 18 of 807 KAR 5:006 and the test shows the meter is not more than two percent (2%) fast. No charge shall be made if the test shows the meter is more than two percent (2%) fast. If the meter has not been tested within twelve (12) months of the request, the meter shall be tested without any charge.
- 6. *Return Check Charge.* A return check charge shall be assessed if a check accepted for payment of a water bill is not honored by the customer's financial institution.
- 7. Late Payment Penalty. A penalty will be assessed if a customer fails to pay a bill for services by the due date shown on the customer's bill. The penalty shall be assessed only once on any bill for rendered services. Any payment received shall first be applied to the bill for services rendered. Additional penalty charges shall not be assessed on unpaid penalty charges.
- 8. *After Hours Turn-On Charge.* If service has been discontinued, a customer may request the service to be turned-on after hours; however, a charge shall be assessed.
- C. The amount of each Special Charge shall be the amount approved by the Public Service Commission. These amounts are set forth on Sheet 3 of this Tariff.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998	Date H
Issued By: Michael Mee	Title:

Date Effective: April 30, 1998

Hardin County Water District No. 2

Sheet 27 of 27

## **RULES AND REGULATIONS**

## SECTION 32.0: TAMPERING WITH A METER

Any person who tampers with or causes damage to a water meter, fire hydrant, shut off valve, or any other part of the District's water system or property shall pay the cost of repairing or replacing the damaged property as provided in SECTION 10.0 DAMAGE TO DISTRICT'S WATER SYSTEM of these Rules and Regulations. Water service shall not be restored until the customer has paid the cost of repairing or replacing the damaged property.

## SECTION 33.0: THERMAL EXPANSION TANK RECOMMENDATION

The District recommends the installation of a thermal expansion tank to be installed on the cold water side of your hot water heater, as per State Division of Plumbing Regulations.

Date Of Issue: March 12, 1998

Issued By:

1 Sell

Date Effective: April 30, 1998