
August 9, 2018 

Kentucky Public Service Commission 

211 Sower Blvd . 

Frankfort, KY 40601 

Kentucky 
Energy 
SystemsLLC 
P. 0. Box 632 
Guthrie, KY 42234 

RE : Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act 

Case No. 2018-00171 

RECEIVED 
AUG 1 4 2018 

PUBLIC SERVICE 
COMMISSION 

Guthrie Natural Gas System certifies the notification regarding the call-before-you-dig 

requirement provided by the Kentucky Public Service Commission was mailed to its customers 

with the July 1, 2018 billing. 

Attached is a copy of the notification sent to customers. 

Regards, 

KENTUCKY ENERGY SYSTEMS, LLC 

Jean Luton 

Vice President 



Kentucky 
Energy 
SystemsLLc 
P. 0. Box 632 

Guthrie, KY 42234 

July 1, 2018 

NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS 

RE EIVED 
AUG 1 4 2018 

PUBLIC SERVICE 
COMMISSION 

NEW PROVISIONS RELATED TO THE CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG REQUIREMENT 

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural gas lines at your place of

residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire and can 

cause property damage, serious injuries or death. 

Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("PSC") will begin investigating instances of 

excavation damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the pipeline was properly 

located prior to excavation. Under changes to the Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act of 1994 (the 

"Act"), which take effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to levy fines for failing to comply 

with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection of underground utilities. 

Key requirements of the ACT (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 367.4917) include: 

• Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must call the 811 one-call center 

at least two working days prior to the start of excavation. IF YOU FAIL TO CALL 811 AND THEN 

DAMAGE A NATURAL GAS LINE, YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO A PENALTY. 

• The requirement to call 811 applies to all work on private property if it occurs within a utility easement 

or uses mechanized equipment. 

• Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of receiving the request. 

• Penalties for violating the statute are up to $1,250 for the first violation, $2,000 for a second violation,

and $4,000 for subsequent violations. 

CALL 811 BEFORE YOU DIG AND MAKE SURE THAT ANYONE DOING EXCAVATION ON YOUR 

BEHALF CALLS 811 TWO WORKING DAYS BEFORE THEY START. 




