Ernie Fletcher Governor

LaJuana S. Wilcher, Secretary Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet

Christopher L. Lilly Commissioner Department of Public Protection



Commonwealth of Kentucky **Public Service Commission**211 Sower Blvd.

P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 Telephone: (502) 564-3940 Fax: (502) 564-3460 psc.ky.gov Mark David Goss Chairman

> Teresa J. Hill Vice Chairman

Gregory Coker Commissioner

March 9, 2006

Elmer J. McFarland 9962 Vieux Carre Louisville, KY 40223

RE: Case No. 2006-00045

Dear Mr. McFarland:

This is in response to your letter received on March 2, 2006 regarding your concerns in the case referenced above. Your letter is being treated as an official protest and will be placed in the case file of this proceeding. The Commission will take your concerns into consideration in its review and decision in this matter.

The Attorney General of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, through his Office of Rate Intervention, has filed to be a full intervenor in this matter. You may want to make the Attorney General aware of your concerns by contacting him at 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 200, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-8204.

You may view Orders and data requests issued by the Commission or other formal case documents on our website http://psc.ky.gov.

Thank you for your letter of interest and concern in this matter.

Sincerely,

Beth O'Donnell Executive Director

BOD/ic

cc: Parties of Record



Allen Anderson South Kentucky R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 910 925-929 N. Main Street Somerset, KY 42502-0910 Mark A. Bailey Kenergy Corp. 3111 Fairview Drive P. O. Box 1389 Owensboro, KY 42302 Michael S. Beer VP - Rates & Regulatory Kentucky Utilities Company c/o Louisville Gas & Electric Co. P. O. Box 32010 Louisville, KY 40232-2010

Kent Blake Director- State Regulation and Rates Louisville Gas and Electric Company 220 W. Main Street P. O. Box 32010 Louisville, KY 40232-2010 Dudley Bottom, Jr. Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc. 620 Old Finchville Road Shelbyville, KY 40065 Daniel W. Brewer Blue Grass Energy Cooperative Corp. P. O. Box 990 1201 Lexington Road Nicholasville, KY 40340-0990

Jackie B. Browning Farmers R.E.C.C. 504 South Broadway P. O. Box 1298 Glasgow, KY 42141-1298 Sharon K. Carson Finance & Accounting Manager Jackson Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 307 U. S. Highway 421S McKee, KY 40447 Honorable Elizabeth L. Cocanougher Senior Corporate Attorney Kentucky Utilities Company c/o Louisville Gas & Electric Co. P. O. Box 32010 Louisville, KY 40232-2010

Lawrence W. Cook Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General Utility & Rate Intervention Division 1024 Capital Center Drive Suite 200 Frankfort, KY 40601-8204 Michael H. Core Big Rivers Electric Corporation 201 Third Street P. O. Box 24 Henderson, KY 42420 Paul G. Embs Clark Energy Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 748 2640 Ironworks Road Winchester, KY 40392-0748

Carol H. Fraley President and CEO Grayson R.E.C.C. 109 Bagby Park Grayson, KY 41143 James B. Gainer Legal Division The Union Light, Heat and Power Company 139 East Fourth Street Cincinnati, OH 45202 Ted Hampton Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc. Highway 25E, P. O. Box 440 Gray, KY 40734

George W. Hersey, Jr. Pennyrile Gas Company, Inc. 110 Locust Street P.O. Box 1247 Monticello, KY 42633 Larry Hicks
Salt River Electric Cooperative
Corp.
111 West Brashear Avenue
P. O. Box 609
Bardstown, KY 40004

Kerry K. Howard Licking Valley R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 605 271 Main Street West Liberty, KY 41472

James L. Jacobus Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corporation 1009 Hustonville Road P. O. Box 87 Danville, KY 40423-0087 Robert M. Marshall Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc. 8205 Highway 127 North P. O. Box 400 Owenton, KY 40359 Avona L. McArter Tri-County Communications, Inc. 1401 Highland Avenue Suite 2 Carrollton, KY 41008 Burns E. Mercer Meade County R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 489 Brandenburg, KY 40108-0489 Michael L. Miller President & CEO Nolin R.E.C.C. 411 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701-8701 Honorable James M. Miller Attorney at Law Sullivan, Mountjoy, Stainback & Miller, PSC 100 St. Ann Street P.O. Box 727 Owensboro, KY 42302-0727

Timothy C. Mosher American Electric Power 101A Enterprise Drive P. O. Box 5190 Frankfort, KY 40602 Barry L. Myers Manager Taylor County R.E.C.C. 100 West Main Street P. O. Box 100 Campbellsville, KY 42719 G. Kelly Nuckols Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation 2900 Irvin Cobb Drive P. O. Box 4030 Paducah, KY 42002-4030

Anthony P. Overbey Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 328 Flemingsburg, KY 41041 Roy M. Palk East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. 4775 Lexington Road P. O. Box 707 Winchester, KY 40392-0707 Honorable Kendrick R. Riggs Attorney at Law Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC 1700 PNC Plaza 500 West Jefferson Street Louisville, KY 40202

Bobby D. Sexton President/General Manager Big Sandy R.E.C.C. 504 11th Street Paintsville, KY 41240-1422 David A. Spainhoward Vice President Big Rivers Electric Corporation 201 Third Street P. O. Box 24 Henderson, KY 42420