

RECEIVED

JUL 27 2018

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

a PPL company

Gwen R. Pinson **Executive Director** Public Service Commission of Kentucky 211 Sower Boulevard P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

July 27, 2018

Re:

Notification to Natural Gas Customers of Changes to the Enforcement of Kentucky's Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act

Case No. 2018-00171

Dear Ms. Pinson,

Louisville Gas and Electric Company ("LG&E") is filing, in electronic medium, pursuant to the Order of the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("KPSC") dated June 4, 2018 in the above referenced case, its certification of compliance. I submit this letter as certification of compliance with item 3 of the referenced Order. Attached is a copy of the bill insert that was distributed to both paper and electronic billings beginning on June 28, 2018 and continuing for a full billing cycle. This information was also posted to LG&E's corporate website at https://lge-ku.com/safety/digging.

Sincerely,

Robert M. Conroy

Louisville Gas and **Electric Company**

State Regulation and Rates 220 West Main Street PO Box 32010 Louisville, Kentucky 40232 www.lge-ku.com

Robert M. Conroy VP State Regulation and Rates T 502-627-3324 F 502-217-4985 robert.conroy@lge-ku.com

Notice to Customers

New Provisions Related to the Call-Before-You-Dig Requirement

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural gas lines at your place of residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire and can cause property damage, serious injuries or death.

Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("PSC") will begin investigating instances of excavation damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the pipeline was properly located prior to excavation.

Under changes to the Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act of 1994 (the "Act"), which take effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to levy fines for failing to comply with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection of underground utilities.

Key requirements of the Act (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 367.4917) include:

- Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must contact the 811 one-call center (call 8-1-1 or submit an online locate request at 811.com) at least two working days prior to the start of excavation. *If you fail to contact 811 and then damage a natural gas line, you will be subject to a penalty.*
- The requirement to contact 811 applies to all work on private property if it occurs within a utility easement or uses mechanized equipment.
- Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of receiving the request.
- Penalties for violating the statute are up to \$1,250 for the first violation, \$2,000 for a second violation, and \$4,000 for subsequent violations.

Contact 811 (call 8-1-1 or submit an online locate request at 811.com) before you dig and make sure that anyone doing excavation on your behalf contacts 811 two working days before they start.



