

1401 Springbank Dr., Suite 16, Owensboro, KY 42303 270-689-9554

RECENT

July 13, 2018

JUL 16 2018

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

KY Public Service Commission 211 Sower Blvd Frankfort, KY 40601

> RE: Notification to Natural Gas Customers of Changes to the Enforcement of Kentucky's Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act

Dear Sir/Madam:

This is to certify Orbit's compliance with the Commission's requirement to include the new changes related to the subject topic in its customers billings for June usages invoiced in early July. Attached is a sample mailing including an invoice and the language included as a stuffer in the invoices.

Sincerely alle

Jim Martin President, Orbit Gas Transmission, Inc Office: 270-689-9554 Cell: 270-302-6431

## Orbit's Customer Billing Stuffer:

## NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS: NEW PROVISIONS RELATED TO THE CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG REQUIREMENT

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural gas lines at your place of residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire and can cause property damage, serious injuries or death.

Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("PSC") will begin investigating instances of excavation damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the pipeline was properly located prior to excavation. Under changes to the Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act of 1994 (the "Act"), which take effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to levy fines for failing to comply with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection of underground utilities.

Key requirements of the Act (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 367.4917) include:

- Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must call the 811 one-call center at least two working days prior to the start of excavation. IF YOU FAIL TO CALL 811 AND THEN DAMAGE A NATURAL GAS LINE, YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO A PENALTY.
- The requirement to call 811 applies to all work on private property if it occurs within a utility easement or uses mechanized equipment.
- Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of receiving the request.
- Penalties for violating the statute are up to \$1,250 for the first violation, \$2,000 for a second violation, and \$4,000 for subsequent violations.

CALL 811 BEFORE YOU DIG AND MAKE SURE THAT ANYONE DOING EXCAVATION ON YOUR BEHALF CALLS 811 TWO WORKING DAYS BEFORE THEY START. Orbit Gas Transmission, Inc.

1401 Springbank Drive, Ste. 16 Owensboro, KY 42303 270-689-9554 berrong@orbitgas.com

## Invoice

Date	Meter #	
6/30/2018	5 <b>69</b> 24	

Bill To	_
Holly Adams 8850 Isley Road Dawson Springs, KY 42408	

					Terms
	Meter Readings		7		Net 10
ltern	Previous Reading	Present Reading		Description	Amount
Farm Tap Base Charge	11292	11296	0.5 MCI Base Ch		3.58
PLEASE READT P.O. BOX 2160, F	TO ORBIT GAS TRANSMISSI IENDERSON, KY 42419-2100	ON, INC.		Subtotal	\$21.03
				Sales Tax (6.0%)	\$0.00
			:	Total	\$21.03
				Payments/Credits	\$0.00
Phone	#	E-mai		Balance Due	\$21.08
270-689-9	554	berrong@orbitgas.co			