
July 2, 2018 

Ms. Gwen Pinson 
Executive Director 

JOHNSON COUNTY GAS COMPANY INC 

PO BOX447 

BETSY LAYNE, KY 41605 

(606) 789-5481 

Kentucky Public Service Commission 
PO Box 615 
211 Sower Boulevard 
Frankfort, KY 40602 

Dear Ms. Pinson: 

RECEIVED 
JUL 0 5 2018 

PUBLIC SERVICE 
COMMISSION 

In order to comply with PSC Order Case No. 2018-00171, a copy of the inclusion of the notice to 
customers of the new provisions related to the CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG requirement was posted 
on the back of our June 30, 2018 customer bills. 

If you need additional information, please contact me cit {606) 789-5481. 

Sincerely, 

(1!1_/?-~ 
Bud Rife, President 
JOHNSON COUNTY GAS COMPANY INC 



NEW PROVISIONS RELATED 

TO THE CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG REQUIREMENT 

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural 

gas lines at your place of residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines 

from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire and can cause property 

damage, serious injuries or death. Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public 

Service Commission ("PSC") will begin investigating instances of excavation 

damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the 

pipeline was properly located prior to excavation. Under changes to the 

Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act of 1994 (the "Act"), which take 

effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to levy fines for failing 

to comply with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection 

of underground utilities. Key requirements of'the Act (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 

367.4917) include: 

• Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must 

call the 811 one-call center at least two working days prior to the start of 

--excavation.

IF YOU FAIL TO CALL 811 AND THEN DAMAG~ A NATURAL GAS LINE, YOU 

WILL BE SUBJECT TO A PENAL TY. 

• The requirement to call 811 applies to all work on private property if it 

occurs within a utility easement or uses mechanized equipment. 

• Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of 

receiving the request. 

• Penalties for violating the statute are up to $1,250 for the first violation, 

$2,000 for a second violation, and $4,000 for subsequent violations. 

CAU 811 BEFORE YOU DIG AND MAKE SURE THAT ANYONE DOING 

EXCAVATION ON YOUR BEHALF CALLS 811 TWO WORKING DAYS BEFORE 

THEY START. 
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