RECEIVED

COMMISSION

JUL **0 5 2018**PUBLIC SERVICE

B & H GAS COMPANY INC PO BOX 447 BETSY LAYNE, KY 41605 (606) 478-5851

July 2, 2018

Ms. Gwen Pinson Executive Director Kentucky Public Service Commission PO Box 615 211 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, KY 40602

Dear Ms. Pinson:

In order to comply with PSC Order Case No. 2018-00171, a copy of the inclusion of the notice to customers of the new provisions related to the CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG requirement was posted on the back of our June 30, 2018 customer bills.

If you need additional information, please contact me at (606) 478-5851.

Sincerely,

Bud Rife, President

B&H GAS COMPANY INC

NEW PROVISIONS RELATED TO THE CALL-BEFORE-YOU-DIG REQUIREMENT

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural gas lines at your place of residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire and can cause property damage, serious injuries or death. Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("PSC") will begin investigating instances of excavation damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the pipeline was properly located prior to excavation. Under changes to the Underground Facility Damage Prevention Act of 1994 (the "Act"), which take effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to levy fines for failing to comply with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection of underground utilities. Key requirements of the Act (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 367.4917) include:

 Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must call the 811 one-call center at least two working days prior to the start of excavation.

IF YOU FAIL TO CALL 811 AND THEN DAMAGE A NATURAL GAS LINE, YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO A PENAL TY.

- The requirement to call 811 applies to all work on private property if it occurs within a utility easement or uses mechanized equipment.
- Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of receiving the request.
- Penalties for violating the statute are up to \$1,250 for the first violation,
 \$2,000 for a second violation, and \$4,000 for subsequent violations.

CALL 811 BEFORE YOU DIG AND MAKE SURE THAT ANYONE DOING EXCAVATION ON YOUR BEHALF CALLS 811 TWO WORKING DAYS BEFORE THEY START.

RES Past Due Amount Service B & H Gas Co P.O. Box 447 07/20/2018 05/31/2018 Account Number Betsy Layne, KY 41605-0447 Phone 606-478-5851 Prev. Read Date 10% Penalty After Due Date H Gas Company Previous Reading 60.76 187 Reading **Current Charges** Current After Due Date 187 16.14 Due Consumption Cur. Read Date 20139 06/30/2018 78.51 Service ID Date **NEW REGULATION NOTICE** Net Amount 76.90 0 Net Amount 76.90 Amount 16.14 ON BACK Mail this Stub With Your Payment Rates Available Upon Request. Call KY 811 Before You Dig! 07/20/2018 SHULAR J. HURD JR PRESTONSBURG, KY 41653-PO BOX 972 Due Date After Due 07/20/2018 Due Date Date 78.51 U.S. POSTAGE PAIL FIRST CLASS MAIL Account Number 20139 Net Amount PERMIT NO. 5 HAROLD, KY 1 OUNCE 76.90

RECEIVED

PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION