Matthew G. Bevin Governor

Charles G. Snavely Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Commonwealth of Kentucky

Public Service Commission
211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-06' Telephone: (502) 564-3940 Fax: (502) 564-3460 psc.ky.gov Michael J. Schmitt Chairman

> Robert Cicero Vice Chairman

Daniel E. Logsdon Jr. Commissioner

August 8, 2016

Re: Martin County Water District, Case No. 2016-00142

At the time I accepted appointment on June 17, 2016 as Chairman of the Public Service Commission I was actively engaged in the practice of law in eastern Kentucky including the representation of clients in Martin County. Several of my clients had a business relationship with the Martin County Water District and others were residential customers. Information I received in my capacity as an attorney prior to becoming a member of the Commission, could perhaps lead some to believe that any decision the Commission might make was influenced by my prior knowledge and relationships. Accordingly, I have decided to recuse from all aspects of the current case and will neither participate in nor contribute in any way to either the investigation or any order which the Commission may issue.

gehlen Gillig for Michael J. Schmitt Michael J. Schmitt

Chairman

Parties of Record:



*Brian Cumbo Attorney at Law P.O. Box 1844 Inez, KENTUCKY 41224

*Martin County Water District 387 East Main Street, Suite 140 Inez, KY 41224

*Martin County Water District Martin County Water District 387 East Main Street, Suite 140 Inez, KY 41224