Matthew G. Bevin Governor

Charles G. Snavely Secretary Energy and Environment Cabinet



Commonwealth of Kentucky

Public Service Commission
211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615
Telephone: (502) 564-3940

lephone: (502) 564-3940 Fax: (502) 564-3460 psc.ky.gov James W. Gardner Chairman

Daniel E. Logsdon Jr. Vice Chairman

> J. Roger Thomas Commissioner

January 6, 2016

PARTIES OF RECORD

Re: Case No. 2015-00353

Attached is a copy of a memorandum which is being filed in the record of the above-referenced case. If you have any comments you would like to make regarding the contents of the memorandum, please do so within five days of receipt of this letter.

Any questions regarding this memorandum should be directed to Molly Katen, Commission Staff Attorney, at (502) 782-2580.

eff Derouen

Sincerely

Executive Director

MK/ph

Attachment



INTRA-AGENCY MEMORANDUM

KENTUCKY PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

TO:

Case File No. 2015-00353

FROM:

Molly Katen, Staff Attorney

DATE:

January 5, 2016

RE:

Mountain Water District; Rhonda James, Commissioner and Chairperson; Lester "John" Collins, Commissioner; Toni Akers, Former Commissioner; and Mike Litafik, Former Commissioner Alleged Failure to Comply with

KRS 278.300(1).

Pursuant to the Commission's December 7, 2015 Order, an informal conference was held on January 5, 2016, at the Commission's offices in Frankfort, Kentucky. The purpose of the informal conference was to discuss any issues relating to the case. A list of the attendees is attached hereto.

Commission Staff stated that it had reviewed Respondents' responses to the Commission's November 2, 2015 Order opening this case and noted the case was scheduled for a hearing before the Commission on February 2, 2016. Counsel for Respondents summarized their position and discussed the procedural posture of the case, including pending issues of law that remain unresolved. Commission Staff and Respondents then discussed the possibility of reaching a stipulation agreement in settlement of this case. The next course of action is for Commission Staff to transmit to Respondents' counsel proposed stipulation terms for review.

There being no further discussion, the informal conference was adjourned.

Attachment

Toni Akers PO Box 392 Pikeville, KENTUCKY 41501 *Douglas McSwain Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP 250 West Main Street Suite 1600 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507-1746

Toni Akers 192 Bowles Park Drive, A-4 Pikeville, KENTUCKY 41501

*Mountain Water District 6332 Zebulon Highway P. O. Box 3157 Pikeville, KY 41502-3157

*Lester "John" Collins 4005 Raccoon Road Raccoon, KENTUCKY 41557 *Roy Sawyers District Administrator Mountain Water District P. O. Box 3157 Pikeville, KY 41502

*Honorable John N Hughes Attorney at Law 124 West Todd Street Frankfort, KENTUCKY 40601 *Mickey T Webster Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP 250 West Main Street Suite 1600 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40507-1746

Rhonda James Chairperson 146 Main Street Pikeville, KENTUCKY 41501

Rhonda James Chairperson Mountain Water District P. O. Box 3157 Pikeville, KY 41502

Mike Litafik 7617 Upper Johns Creek Road Phelps, KENTUCKY 41553