

David S. Samford david@gosssamfordlaw.com (859) 368-7740

August 13, 2014

RECEIVED

AUG 13 2014

Mr. Jeff Derouen Executive Director Public Service Commission 211 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, Kentucky 40602

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Re: PSC Case No. 2014-00051

Dear Mr. Derouen:

Please find enclosed for filing with the Commission in the above-referenced case, an original and ten copies of a Motion for an Extension of Time, submitted on behalf of East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. and its Member systems.

Please return a file-stamped copy of these filings to my office.

Sinceret

David S. Samford

Enc.

cc: Patrick Woods (w/enc)

## COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

## BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

RECEIVED

AUG 1 3 2014

IN THE MATTER OF:

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

AN EXAMINATION BY THE PUBLIC SERVICE		
COMMISSION OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL	)	
SURCHARGE MECHANISM OF EAST KENTUCKY	)	
POWER COOPERATIVE, INC. FOR THE SIX-MONTH	)	CASE NO.
BILLING PERIOD ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2013,	-	2014-00051
AND THE PASS THROUGH MECHANISM FOR ITS	)	
SIXTEEN MEMBER DISTRIBUTION COOPERATIVES	)	

## MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME

Comes now East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. ("EKPC"), by counsel, and moves the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("Commission") for an Order granting a four (4) day extension for EKPC and its Members to file responses to Commission Staff's third requests for information in the above-captioned proceeding.

In support of this Motion, EKPC states that Commission Staff's third set of requests for information were issued on August 7, 2014, with responses due on August 18, 2014. Due to the amount of information necessary to respond to the information requests, EKPC is seeking a four (4) day extension, to August 22, 2014, in which it and its Members may respond.

Furthermore, EKPC has previously filed a motion for an Informal Conference to be held in this matter. Based upon possible dates for said Informal Conference that have been provided by Commission Staff, EKPC respectfully requests that the Informal Conference be scheduled for September 4, 2014 at 1:30 P.M., so as to permit the greatest number of EKPC's Members to participate.

WHEREFORE, EKPC respectfully requests that the Commission enter an Order granting a four (4) day extension to respond to Commission Staff's requests for information and for an Informal Conference to be scheduled on September 4, 2014, at 1:30 P.M.

This 13th day of August, 2014.

Respectfully submitted,

Mark David Goss
David S. Samford
GOSS SAMFORD, PLLC

2365 Harrodsburg Road, Suite B235

Lexington, KY 40504

(859) 368-7740

mdgoss@gosssamfordlaw.com david@gosssamfordlaw.com

Counsel for East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc.

## **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

This is to certify that a true and correct copy of the foregoing was served by depositing same in the custody and care of the U.S. Mails, postage pre-paid, on this 13<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2014, addressed to the following:

Allen Anderson President & CEO South Kentucky R.E.C.C. 925-929 N Main Street P. O. Box 910 Somerset, KY 42502-0910

Paul G. Embs
President & CEO
Clark Energy Cooperative, Inc.
2640 Ironworks Road
P. O. Box 748
Winchester, KY 40392-0748

Kerry K. Howard CEO Licking Valley R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 605 271 Main Street West Liberty, KY 41472

James L. Jacobus
President & CEO
Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corp.
1009 Hustonville Road
P. O. Box 87
Danville, KY 40423-0087

David Estepp President & General Manager Big Sandy R.E.C.C. 504 11th Street Paintsville, KY 41240-1422

Carol Ann Fraley President & CEO Grayson R.E.C.C. 109 Bagby Park Grayson, KY 41143

Ted Hampton Manager Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc. Highway 25E P. O. Box 440 Gray, KY 40734

Larry Hicks
President & CEO
Salt River Electric Cooperative Corp.
111 West Brashear Avenue
P. O. Box 609
Bardstown, KY 40004

Bill T. Prather President & CEO Farmers R.E.C.C. 504 South Broadway P. O. Box 1298 Glasgow, KY 42141-1298

Donald Smothers
Blue Grass Energy Cooperative Corp.
1201 Lexington Road
P. O. Box 990
Nicholasville, KY 40340-0990

Debbie J. Martin President & CEO Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc. 620 Old Finchville Road Shelbyville, KY 40065

Michael L. Miller President & CEO Nolin R.E.C.C. 411 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701-6767

Barry L. Myers Manager Taylor County R.E.C.C. 625 West Main Street P. O. Box 100 Campbellsville, KY 42719

Christopher S. Perry
President & CEO
Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative, Inc.
1449 Elizaville Road
P. O. Box 328
Flemingsburg, KY 41041

Mark Stallons
President & CEO
Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc.
8205 Highway 127 North
P. O. Box 400
Owenton, KY 40359

Carol Wright
President & CEO
Jackson Energy Cooperative Corporation
115 Jackson Energy Lane
McKee, KY 40447

Counsel for East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc.