COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

AN EXAMINATION BY THE PUBLIC SERVICE)	
COMMISSION OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL)	CASE NO.
SURCHARGE MECHANISM OF EAST KENTUCKY)	2014-00051
POWER COOPERATIVE, INC. FOR THE SIX-	
MONTH BILLING PERIOD ENDING DECEMBER)	
31, 2013 AND THE PASS THROUGH MECHANISM)	
FOR ITS SIXTEEN MEMBER DISTRIBUTION)	
COOPERATIVES)	

ORDER

On August 25, 2015, the Commission issued a final Order in this matter that, inter alia, required East Kentucky Power Cooperative's ("EKPC") Member Cooperatives to include in their applicable environmental surcharge pass-through factors the monthly adjustments set forth in the Order's Appendix for a period of six months.

On September 14, 2015, Farmers Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation ("Farmers RECC") and Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc. ("Owen Electric") tendered a petition for rehearing pursuant to KRS 278.400. Farmers RECC and Owen Electric specifically asserted that the Commission's August 25, 2015 Order contains an inconsistency. They noted that the Order requires them to refund 1/12th of their respective over-recoveries in equal amounts over a six-month period. Farmers RECC and Owen Electric argue that the Order incorrectly states that all of the Member Cooperatives requested a six-month amortization period, whereas Farmers RECC and Owen Electric requested to use a 12-month amortization period. They stated that due to the magnitude of the over-collections a 12-month period is justified in order to mitigate volatility in customer bills, avoid swings between over-/under-recoveries and

limit harm to their respective financial conditions. Farmers RECC and Owen Electric note that it is technically possible to comply with the Commission's Order, but that doing so would refund only half of the over-recoveries.

After considering Farmers RECC's and Owen Electric's petition for rehearing and being otherwise sufficiently advised, the Commission finds that further examination of the issues raised is required and that the examination cannot be completed within the 20-day time period required by KRS 278.400. Accordingly, the Commission will grant the motion for rehearing to enable further review of the merits of the issues presented.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Farmers RECC's and Owen Electric's petition for rehearing is granted for the purposes of further consideration.

By the Commission

ENTERED

OCT 02 2015

KENTUCKY PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

ATTEST

Executive Director

*Allen Anderson President & CEO South Kentucky R.E.C.C. 925-929 N Main Street P. O. Box 910 Somerset, KY 42502-0910 *Joni K Hazelrigg CEO Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative, Inc. 1449 Elizaville Road P. O. Box 328 Flemingsburg, KY 41041 *David S Samford Goss Samford, PLLC 2365 Harrodsburg Road, Suite B325 Lexington, KENTUCKY 40504

*Robert Christopher Brewer President & CEO Clark Energy Cooperative, Inc. 2640 Ironworks Road P. O. Box 748 Winchester, KY 40392-0748 *Kerry K Howard CEO Licking Valley R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 605 271 Main Street West Liberty, KY 41472 *Honorable W. Jeffrey Scott Attorney At Law P.O. Box 608 311 West Main Street Grayson, KENTUCKY 41143

*East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. 4775 Lexington Road P. O. Box 707 Winchester, KY 40392-0707 *James L Jacobus President & CEO Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corporation 1009 Hustonville Road P. O. Box 87 Danville, KY 40423-0087 *Tim Sharp
President / CEO
Salt River Electric Cooperative Corp.
111 West Brashear Avenue
P. O. Box 609
Bardstown, KY 40004

*David Estepp President & General Manager Big Sandy R.E.C.C. 504 11th Street Paintsville, KY 41240-1422 *Debbie J Martin President & CEO Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc. 620 Old Finchville Road Shelbyville, KY 40065 *Mark Stallons President & CEO Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc. 8205 Highway 127 North P. O. Box 400 Owenton, KY 40359

*Carol Ann Fraley President & CEO Grayson R.E.C.C. 109 Bagby Park Grayson, KY 41143 *Michael L Miller President & CEO Nolin R.E.C.C. 411 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701-6767 *Michael I Williams
President & CEO
Blue Grass Energy Cooperative Corp.
1201 Lexington Road
P. O. Box 990
Nicholasville, KY 40340-0990

*Woodford L Gardner, Jr. Richardson Gardner & Alexander 117 East Washington Street Glasgow, KENTUCKY 42141 *Barry L Myers Manager Taylor County R.E.C.C. 625 West Main Street P. O. Box 100 Campbellsville, KY 42719 *Patrick C Woods Director, Regulatory & Compliance East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 707 Winchester, KY 40392-0707

*Ted Hampton General Manager Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc. Highway 25E P. O. Box 440 Gray, KY 40734 *Bill T Prather President & CEO Farmers R.E.C.C. 504 South Broadway P. O. Box 1298 Glasgow, KY 42141-1298 *Carol Wright
President & CEO
Jackson Energy Cooperative Corporation
115 Jackson Energy Lane
McKee, KY 40447