

# **Kentucky Rural Water Association**

Helping water and wastewater utilities help themselves

September 23, 2010

RECENT

SEP 272010

PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION

Mr. Jeff Derouen, Executive Director Public Service Commission P. O. Box 615 Frankfort, KY 40602-0615

#### Re: Case No. 2010-00294

Kentucky Rural Water Association's 31<sup>st</sup> Annual Conference and Exhibition

Dear Mr. Derouen:

Kentucky Rural Water Association (KRWA) hosted its **31**<sup>st</sup> **Annual Conference & Exhibition, A Beacon of Light,** at the at the Galt House Hotel & Suites in Louisville, Kentucky on August 23-25, 2010. The planned course of instruction was performed as scheduled with the following changes:

Monday, August 23, 2010 Topic change: Speaker change: Session #1 Wireless I/O Network Basics and Wireless Applications Terry Roseberry, Banner Engineering Corporation

Wednesday, August 25, 2010	Concurrent B, Session #13B
Topic change:	Water Meter Technologies
Speaker change:	Rodney Adkins, C. I. Thornburg Co.

Details of the session changes and the speaker bio are enclosed. The total number of hours that could be earned by water district commissioners did not change and remains at twelve hours.

On behalf of Kentucky Rural Water Association, I hereby attest that the program herein referenced as **Case No. 2010-00294**, with the changes noted above, was performed as scheduled. As required, KRWA has included a list of all water district commissioners attending this approved course. No handouts were provided to attendees.

Kentucky Rural Water Association would like to thank the Kentucky Public Service Commission and staff for your leadership and support in approving the training offered during our **31**<sup>st</sup> **Annual Conference and Exhibition.** 

Sincerely,

Clem Wethington a

Clem Wethington Education Director

jc

Enclosures (2)

### Monday, August 23, 2010 - Session #1

# *Wireless I/O Network Basics and Wireless Applications* DW / WW – 1 hr. Terry Roseberry, Banner Engineering Corporation

This session will provide information on the use of wireless technology to control equipment and monitor parameters in the water and wastewater systems. This session will include: radio (RF) basics, network applications, site surveys, battery and solar power options, and real applications.

Instructor Bio: **Terry Roseberry** graduated from Blue River Valley High School and attended Indiana University East. Terry spent three years in the United States Signal Corp where he received electronic training for Microwave Communications. He worked on microwave communication systems in Italy for two years. Terry has been involved in electrical controls in the industrial world since 1978 and has been associated with Banner Engineering for over 25 years. He currently is the Business Development Manager – Wireless Products for IN, KY, OH, TN, and WV.

### Wednesday, August 25, 2010 – Session #13B

Water Meter Technologies

DW – 1 hr.

## Rodney Adkins, C. I. Thornburg Company, Inc.

Water meters are used to account for customer usage, industry usage, and to track volumes of water flowing throughout a distribution system. The meter is often referred to as the "cash register" of the water system. Utilities need accurate measuring equipment for efficient management. This session will deal with the latest developments in water metering.

Instructor Bio: **Rodney Adkins** has been employed with the C. I. Thornburg Company since 1990. The C. I. Thornburg Co. has five full service branches to serve the municipal water and wastewater industry in all of West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee and the Southern part of Ohio will well over 100 employees.

Rodney completed the Sensus Meter School in 1992. In 2006 he received certification as an AutoRead trainer.

Previous utility experience also includes:

- 1979 Water Plant Manager-Salt Rock Water PSD
- 1983 Plant Manager and Maintenance Manager
- 1984 Certified Meter Tester in West Virginia
- 1987District General Manager thru 1990
- 1989-1990 Plant Operator-Kenova

### 31st Annual Conference and Exhibition August 23-25, 2010 Galt House Hotel Suites Louisville, Kentucky COMMISSIONERS EARNING CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS

[	1	T	PSC
Organization	First Name	Last Name	Hours
Allen Co. Water District	Bobby	Carter	9
Allen Co. Water District	Joe	Young	10
Allen Co. Water District	Tracy	Oliver	9
Allen Co. Water District	Doug	McClure	3
Big Sandy Water District	Bill	Hardin	6
Big Sandy Water District	David	Salisbury	6
Big Sandy Water District	Charlie	Shockey	6
Big Sandy Water District	Paul	Thomas	6
East Clark Co. Water District	Fred	Farris	12
East Clark Co. Water District	Ted	Marcum	8.5
East Daviess Co. Water Association	Billy	Haynes	2
East Daviess Co. Water Association	Cletus	Greer	5
East Logan Water District	Carroll	Browning	5.5
East Pendleton Co. Water District	Bill	Thompson	6
East Pendleton Co. Water District	Leslie	Herbst	6.5
Grayson Co. Water District	John	Tomes	12
Grayson Co. Water District	Kirby	Johnson	12
Grayson Co. Water District	Nancy	Cain	12
Grayson Co. Water District	Malcolm	Purcell	12
Green River Valley Water District	Jack	London	12
Jessamine-South Elkhorn Water District	Jerry		6
		Haws	
Knott Co. Water & Sewer District	Alice	Ritchie	
Larue Co. Water District #1	Bobby Pat	Garrison	12 12
Larue Co. Water District #1	Kenneth	Eastridge	
Laurel Co. Water District #2		Finley	12
Laurel Co. Water District #2	Roy Wayne	Jenkins	12
Laurel Co. Water District #2	David	Moore	12
Lyon Co. Water District	Don John	Robertson	12 9
Lyon Co. Water District Marion Co. Water District		Rudolph	9
Marion Co. Water District	Barbara	May Sandusky	<u> </u>
Marion Co. Water District	Earl Jeff		6
Marion Co. Water District		Preston	
	Everett	Thomas	6 12
McCreary Co. Water District	Eugene	Waters	
McCreary Co. Water District	Maynard	New	12
Meade Co. Water District	Doug	Cornett	4
Mountain Water District	Prentis	Adkins	9
Mountain Water District	Rhonda	James	9
North Mercer Water District	Gerald	Sheperson	10
North Mercer Water District	Roy	Short	6
North Mercer Water District	Tony	Best	11
Pendleton Co. Water District	L. R.	Faulkner, Jr.	6
Rattlesnake Ridge Water District	Bill	Gilbert	6
Rattlesnake Ridge Water District	Chuck	Horton	3
South Anderson Water District	Ollie	Neat	12
Southeast Daviess Co. Water District	Joe	Elliott	11
South Hopkins Water District	Roy	McGregor	9
Warren Co. Water District	Joe	Taylor	12
West Carroll Water District	Vickie	Edwards	10
West Laurel Water Association	Otis	Williams	12
Western Pulaski Co. Water District	Craig	Garner	3