COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

FILING OF EAST KENTUCKY POWER COOPERATIVE, INC. TO REQUEST APPROVAL OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO ITS QUALIFIED COGENERATION AND SMALL POWER PRODUCTION FACILITIES TARIFF

CASE NO. 2008-00128

)

<u>ORDER</u>

On April 28, 2008, the Commission ordered that each of the 16 distribution cooperatives served by East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. ("East Kentucky")¹ be made a party to this proceeding. The Commission further ordered all 16 distribution cooperatives to file revised cogeneration/small power producer tariffs with the Commission, reflecting East Kentucky's proposed tariff revisions, with an effective date of June 1, 2008, in order to coincide with the effective date of East Kentucky's revised cogeneration/small power producer tariff.

As directed, all 16 distribution cooperatives filed revised tariffs. Pursuant to 807 KAR 5:011, Section 6(3)(b), each cooperative provided 20 days' notice to the Commission of its proposal to make its revised tariff effective on June 1, 2008.

¹ Big Sandy Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; Blue Grass Energy Cooperative Corporation; Clark Energy Cooperative, Inc.; Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc.; Farmers Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative; Grayson Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corporation; Jackson Energy Cooperative; Licking Valley Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; Nolin Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc.; Salt River Electric Cooperative Corporation; Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc.; South Kentucky Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation; and Taylor County Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation ("Taylor County RECC").

Furthermore, pursuant to 807 KAR 5.011, Section 14, all of the cooperatives requested waivers from the notice requirements of 807 KAR 5.011, Section 8. Fifteen of the cooperatives noted in their waiver requests that they do not currently serve any customers under the subject tariff. Taylor County RECC noted in its request for waiver that only one of its customers is currently utilizing the subject tariff and that notice had been served by mailing that customer a complete copy of its tariff.

The Commission finds that the proposed tariff revisions provide a benefit to the cooperatives' customers (providing a higher price for the power the customers sell under the tariff). As such, the Commission finds that the cooperatives' revised cogeneration/small power production tariffs should be permitted to take effect as soon as possible, and that it is necessary to make the cooperatives' tariffs effective concurrent with East Kentucky's tariff, which, pursuant to the Commission's April 28, 2008 Order, takes effect on June 1, 2008.

The Commission finds that the amount of time it would take for the cooperatives to prepare and publish notice of their tariff revisions pursuant to 807 KAR 5:011, Section 8, would prevent them from filing their tariff revisions in time to allow the tariffs to take effect on June 1, 2008. The Commission further finds that the only customer throughout East Kentucky's entire system currently utilizing the subject tariff has been provided direct notice by Taylor County RECC. Therefore, the Commission finds that good cause exists for granting the cooperatives' requests for waivers from the notice provisions of 807 KAR 5:011, Section 8.

-2-

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that:

1. The cooperatives' requests for waivers from the notice requirements of 807 KAR 5:011, Section 8, are hereby granted.

2. The cooperatives' proposed tariffs shall be effective on June 1, 2008.

Done at Frankfort, Kentucky, this 28th day of May, 2008.

By the Commission

WALTO Executive Director

Allen Anderson South Kentucky R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 910 925-929 N. Main Street Somerset, KY 42502-0910

Paul G. Embs Clark Energy Cooperative, Inc. P. O. Box 748 2640 Ironworks Road Winchester, KY 40392-0748

Larry Hicks Salt River Electric Cooperative Corp. 111 West Brashear Avenue P. O. Box 609 Bardstown, KY 40004

James L. Jacobus Inter-County Energy Cooperative Corporation 1009 Hustonville Road P. O. Box 87 Danville, KY 40423-0087

Debbie Martin Shelby Energy Cooperative, Inc. 620 Old Finchville Road Shelbyville, KY 40065

Christopher S. Perry Fleming-Mason Energy Cooperative P. O. Box 328 Flemingsburg, KY 41041 Daniel W. Brewer Blue Grass Energy Cooperative Corp. P. O. Box 990 1201 Lexington Road Nicholasville, KY 40340-0990

Carol H. Fraley President and CEO Grayson R.E.C.C. 109 Bagby Park Grayson, KY 41143

Robert Hood Owen Electric Cooperative, Inc. 8205 Highway 127 North P. O. Box 400 Owenton, KY 40359

Honorable Michael L. Kurtz Attorney at Law Boehm, Kurtz & Lowry 36 East Seventh Street Suite 1510 Cincinnati, OH 45202

Michael L. Miller President & CEO Nolin R.E.C.C. 411 Ring Road Elizabethtown, KY 42701-8701

Bill Prather Farmers R.E.C.C. 504 South Broadway P. O. Box 1298 Glasgow, KY 42141-1298 Sharon K. Carson Finance & Accounting Manager Jackson Energy Cooperative 115 Jackson Energy Lane McKee, KY 40447

Ted Hampton Cumberland Valley Electric, Inc. Highway 25E, P. O. Box 440 Gray, KY 40734

Kerry K. Howard Licking Valley R.E.C.C. P. O. Box 605 271 Main Street West Liberty, KY 41472

Honorable Charles A. Lile Senior Corporate Counsel East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc. 4775 Lexington Road P. O. Box 707 Winchester, KY 40392-0707

Barry L. Myers Manager Taylor County R.E.C.C. 100 West Main Street P. O. Box 100 Campbellsville, KY 42719

Bobby D. Sexton President/General Manager Big Sandy R.E.C.C. 504 11th Street Paintsville, KY 41240-1422