John O. Hicks, III

Attorncy at Law 166 Main Street P. O. Box 64 Calhoun, Kentucky 42327

Telephone: (270) 273-5749 Facsimile: (270) 273-9488 2008-00063

RECEIVED

MAR 1 3 2008

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

FROM: John O. Hicks, III

DELIVER TO: Hon. Jerry Wuetcher

DATE: 03-13-08

NUMBER OF PAGES INCLUDING COVER: 6

TRANSMITTED TO FAX NO. (502) 564-7279

COMMENTS: RE: North McLean County Water District

Following please find letter regarding pass-through rate increase for North McLean County Water District and proposed minutes of meeting of February 18, 2008.

Thank you,

. D. Harry ohn O. Hicks, Ill

NOTE: IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE ALL PAGES OF THIS FAX, PLEASE TELEPHONE OUR VOICE NUMBER: (270) 273-5749.

This message is intended only for the use of the individual or entity to whom/which it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or is the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. IF YOU HAVE RECEIVED THIS COMMUNICATION IN ERROR, PLEASE NOTIFY US IMMEDIATELY, BY COLLECT TELEPHONE CALL. Thank you.

John O. Hicks, III

Attorney at Law 166 Main Street P. O. Box 64 Calhoun, Kentucky 42327

Telephone: (270) 273-5749 Facsimile: (270) 273-9855

RECEIVED

Ę.

MAR 1 3 2008

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

March 13, 2008

Hon. Jerry Wuetcher Public Service Commission 211 Sower Blvd. P. O. Box 615 Frankfort, KY 40602-0615

VIA FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION TO: (502) 564-7279 AND FIRST CLASS MAIL

RE: North McLean County Water District

Dear Mr. Wuetcher:

Pursuant to our telephone conversation yesterday, enclosed please find copy of the minutes of that February 18, 2008, regular monthly meeting of the North McLean County Water District, which minutes include that approval and resolution of the Board of Water Commissioners on said date resolving that the effective date of its allowable pass-through water rate increase of \$0.08 per 1,000 gallons would and shall be March 10, 2008, subject to approval by the Public Service Commission.

Said minutes, as prepared by me, are as yet unsigned but, as customary, are to be presented at the next regular monthly meeting of the Water District, scheduled to occur on Monday, March 17, 2008, for reading and Board approval and then signature by the Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer of the Board of Commissioners of North McLean County Water District.

Ξ.

Hon. Jerry Wuetcher Page Two March 13, 2008

Should any questions arise or should further information be needed, please let me know. Thank you for your consideration and assistance in this matter.

Very truly yours,

John D- Hicks, III

JOH/ac

Enclosures

cc: Nadine Jennings

MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF WATER COMMISSIONERS OF NORTH MCLEAN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD FEBRUARY 18, 2008, AT 7:00 P.M., AT THE CITY-COUNTY BUILDING, CALHOUN, KENTUCKY

The meeting of the North McLean County Board of Water Commissioners was held on February 18, 2008, at 7:00 p.m., at the City-County Building, Calhoun, Kentucky.

Present were Commissioners:

Nathel Jennings, Chairman

Carrol B. Troutman, Secretary-Treasurer

Winfred W. Williams

Keith Ayer.

Absent was Commissioner Gary Floyd.

Also present were the Board's Office Secretary, Nadine Jennings; John O. Hicks,

III, Attorney; and Bo Stevens, Maintenance Worker.

There were no visitors present.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Nathel Jennings, who presided.

The minutes of the regular meeting of January 21, 2008, were read and approved.

Nadine Jennings presented the matter of the bad debts for 2007, a copy of which is attached to the original of these minutes; and after further discussion, upon motion by Troutman, seconded by Williams, and passed unanimously, the Board approved writing off the list of bad debts for 2007. Maintenance Worker Bo Stevens gave an update on the Atherton Road project, indicating that work has begun.

Discussion ensued with regard to calling for the annual election for officers for the 2008 calendar year; and after further discussion, upon motion by Ayer, seconded by Jennings, and passed unanimously, the Board elected Winfred W. Williams as Chairman and Carrol B. Troutman as Secretary-Treasurer of the Water District for the calendar year 2008, all effective as of March 1, 2008.

The bills payable were read and approved and ordered paid on motion by Ayer, seconded by Troutman, and passed unanimously.

The matter of the pass-through water rate increase resulting from the water rate increase received from West Daviess County Water District was presented; and, after further discussion, upon motion by Ayer, seconded by Troutman, and unanimously passed, the Board resolved and approved that our allowable pass-through water rate increase of \$0.08 per 1,000 gallons shall be implemented and effective as of March 10, 2008, subject to approval by the Public Service Commission.

The matter of the necessity of going into execution session to discuss personnel was presented; and upon motion by Williams, seconded by Ayer, and passed with three votes "aye", no votes "nay", and with Commissioner Jennings abstaining, the Board approved going into executive session to discuss personnel. Thereafter, upon motion by Ayer, seconded by Williams, and passed with three votes "aye", no votes "nay", and with Chairman Jennings abstaining, the Board approved returning to regular session, announcing that no action was taken during the executive session.

Discussion then ensued concerning possible adjustments to the salaries of Maintenance Worker, Bo Stevens; Board Secretary, Nadine Jennings; Maintenance Superintendent, Michael Latham; and Board Office Worker, Tiffany Sallee; and after further discussion, upon motion by Williams, seconded by Ayer and passed with three votes "aye", no votes "nay", and with Commissioner Jennings abstaining, the Board approved raising Bo Stevens' salary by \$1.00 per hour, being from \$11.00 per hour to a total of \$12.00 per hour, effective March 1, 2008, and raising the salaries of the aforesaid Nadine Jennings, Michael Latham, and Tiffany Sallee by 3% of their current salaries, all effective as of March 1, 2008.

After further discussion, upon motion duly made, seconded and unanimously passed, the meeting was adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

Winfred W. Williams, Chairman

ATTEST:

Carrol B. Troutman, Secretary-Treasurcr