Steven L. Beshear Governor

Robert D. Vance, Secretary Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet

Larry R. Bond Commissioner Department of Public Protection

Sandra Gary Office Manager Muhlenberg County Water District #3 P. O. Box 67 4789 Main Street Bremen, KY 42325



Commonwealth of Kentucky

Public Service Commission
211 Sower Blvd.
P.O. Box 615

Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615

Telephone: (502) 564-3940
Fax: (502) 564-3460
psc.ky.gov

April 18, 2008

Mark David Goss Chairman

> John W. Clay Vice Chairman

Caroline Pitt Clark Commissioner

RE: Case No. 2008-00056

We enclose one attested copy of the Commission's Order in the above case.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Stumbo Executive Director

SS/tw Enclosure



## COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

## BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In the Matter of:

APPLICATION OF MUHLENBERG COUNTY )
WATER DISTRICT NO. 3 FOR AN INCREASE IN ) CASE NO. 2008-00056
CERTAIN NON-RECURRING CHARGES AND )
TARIFF REVISIONS )

## ORDER

On February 13, 2008, Muhlenberg County Water District No. 3 ("Muhlenberg District") applied to the Commission for an increase in certain non-recurring charges and tariff revisions. Because of deficiencies in its initial filing, Muhlenberg District's application was not accepted for filing until February 25, 2008. Muhlenberg District proposes to place its charges into effect on May 1, 2008. Having considered the proposed rate revision and being otherwise sufficiently advised, the Commission finds that, pursuant to KRS 278.190, further proceedings are necessary to determine the reasonableness of the proposed rate revision and that such proceedings cannot be completed prior to the proposed effective date.

## IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that:

- 1. The proposed rates are hereby suspended for 5 months from May 1, 2008 up to and including September 30, 2008.
- 2. Nothing contained herein shall prevent the Commission from entering a final decision in this case prior to the termination of the suspension period.

Done at Frankfort, Kentucky, this 18th day of April, 2008.

By the Commission

Executive Director