Ernie Fletcher Governor

Teresa J. Hill, Secretary Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet

Christopher L. Lilly Commissioner Department of Public Protection



Commonwealth of Kentucky **Public Service Commission** 211 Sower Blvd. P.O. Box 615 Frankfort, Kentucky 40602-0615 Telephone: (502) 564-3940 Fax: (502) 564-3460 psc.ky.gov

October 18, 2006

Mark David Goss Chairman

> John W. Clay Commissioner

Honorable Lindsey W. Ingram, III Attorney at Law STOLL KEENON OGDEN PLLC 300 West Vine Street Suite 2100 Lexington, KY 40507-1801

RE: Case No. 2006-00418

Kentucky-American Water Company aka Kentucky American Water

The Commission staff has reviewed your response and has determined that your application in the above case now meets the minimum filing requirements. Enclosed please find a stamped filed copy of the first page of your filing. This case has been docketed and will be processed as expeditiously as possible.

If you need further assistance, please contact Mark Frost at 502/564-3940.

Sincerely,

Muha F. Burfant

Mike Burford Director Division of Filings

MB/MB Enclosure



An Equal Opportunity Employer M/F/D

Regented

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

SEP 2 1 2006

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF:)	_	
APPLICATION OF KENTUCKY-AMERICAN)	CASE NO. 70	06-00418
WATER COMPANY FOR CONTINUED) PARTICIPATION WITH AMERICAN WATER)		FILED
CAPITAL CORP.)		OCT 1 1 2006
APPLICATION OF KENTUCKY-AME	RICAN WATER C	PUBLIC SERVICE

Comes Kentucky-American Water Company ("Kentucky American Water") and for its Application for approval of continued participation in the borrowing program with American Water Capital Corp. states as follows:

1. Kentucky American Water is a corporation organized and existing under the laws of the Commonwealth of Kentucky with its principal office and place of business at 2300 Richmond Road, Lexington, Kentucky 40502.

2. Kentucky American Water is a wholly-owned subsidiary of American Water Works Company, Inc. ("American Water") and is engaged in the distribution and sale of water in its Central Division, consisting of Bourbon, Clark, Fayette, Harrison, Jessamine, Scott and Woodford Counties and its Northern Division consisting of Gallatin, Owen and Grant Counties. It currently owns, operates and maintains potable water production, treatment, storage, transmission and distribution systems for the purpose of furnishing potable water for residential, commercial, industrial and governmental users in its service territory having an original cost of \$313,554,174.27 as of August 25, 2006.