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Instructions for Completing Kentucky Universal Service Fund Report

Beginning April 6, 2021, the monthly state reimbursement rate for Lifeline customers will increase
temporarily increase to $6.00 for Eligible Telecommunications Carriers that have certified to
the Commission that they provide unlimited voice service to their Lifeline customers.
Eligible Telecommunication Carriers that do not provide unlimited voice service will continue to
receive $3.50 per Lifeline customer. Following are instructions for completing the forms and
definitions of the terms on the forms.

All Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs), Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECS),
and Wireless Providers are required to collect the surcharge from their customers on a monthly
basis. The surcharge should be collected for all local exchange access lines and wireless
subscribers including analog and digital cellular and PCS. Local exchange access lines are defined
for this purpose as facilities which provide access to and from the telecommunications network for
toll service and for local calling with the exception of Coin, WATS, remote call forwarding, radio
common carriers, interlata foreign exchange lines, private line services, mobile, other common
carriers, and company official accounts. Each carrier should collect the surcharge from the
customers it serves on a retail basis, wholesale accounts should not be charged the surcharge.
The surcharge should appear on each customer’s bill as “Kentucky Lifeline Support” or a similar
facsimile.

Carriers may contribute to the fund on a monthly or quarterly basis depending on the number of
subscribers served. Carriers with less than 1,000 access lines may contribute on a quarterly basis.
Carriers with greater than 1,000 access lines should continue to contribute on a monthly basis.
Carriers contributing on a quarterly basis will still be required to submit separate reports for each
month but remit them to the fund on a quarterly basis. Reports are due within 15 days following
the reporting month.

Form Instructions

Please complete the carrier information at the top of the form; include company name, address,
telephone/fax number, vendor number, date report filed and month for reporting data. Please circle
your company designation.

Block 3, Monthly Access Line Data

Line 1, this is the total number of access lines in service for the month.

Line 2, the amount of the surcharge is provided.

Line 3, this should be equal to line 1 multiplied by line 2.

Line 4, this is the number of customers that are receiving Lifeline service.

Line 5, the amount of reimbursement should be the number of customers from line 4 multiplied by
the amount of state reimbursement, up to $3.50. If the carrier provides unlimited voice service, and
has certified so to the Commission, the amount of reimbursement should be the number of
customers from line 4 multiplied by the amount of state reimbursement, up to $6.00, for Lifeline
service offered on and after April 6, 2021. .

Signature Block
Please date and print the name and title of the company official and sign the form. A company
official may be an officer, controller or other responsible person designated to be held accountable

for the information submitted on the form.

Please note the two addresses at the bottom of the form and mail within 15 days after the reporting
month. Utilities failing to file reports will be subject to penalties in accordance with KRS 278.990.



