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NOTIFICATION TO NATURAL GAS CUSTOMERS OF CHANGES TO THE 

ENFORCEMENT OF KENTUCKY'S UNDERGROUND FACILITY DAMAGE 

PREVENTION ACT. 

NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS 

NEW PROVISIONS RELATED TO THE CALL-BEFORE-YOU DIG REQUIREMENT 

Because you receive natural gas service, you likely have underground natural gas lines at your place of 

residence or business. Damage to natural gas lines from excavation work can lead to explosion or fire 

and can cause property damage, serious injuries or death. 

Beginning July 14, 2018, the Kentucky Public Service Commission ("PSC" ) will begin investigating 

instances of excavation damage to underground natural gas pipelines to determine whether the pipeline 

was properly located prior to excavation. Under changes to the Underground Facility Damage 

Prevention Act of 1994 (the "Act"), which take effect on July 14, 2018, the PSC will have the authority to 

levy fines for failing to comply with the requirements of the Kentucky statute related to protection of 

underground util ities. 

Key requirements of the Act (KRS 367.4901 to KRS 367.4917) include: 

• Excavators, including property owners working on their own property, must call the 811 one-call 

center at least two working days prior to the start of excavation. IF YOU FAIL TO CALL 811 

AND THEN DAMAGE A NATURAL GAS LINE, YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO A PENALTY. 

• The requ irement to call 811 applies to all work on private property if it occurs wit hin a util ity

easement or uses mechanized equipment. 

• Natural gas operators must mark the facilities within two working days of receiving the request.

• Penalties for violating the statute are up to $1,250 for the first violation, $2,000 for a second 

violation, and $4,000 for subsequent violations. 

• CALL 811 BEFORE YOU DIG AND MAKE SURE THAT ANYONE DOING EXCAVATION ON 

YOUR BEHALF CALLS 811 TWO WORKING DAYS BEFORE THEY START. 




